Pinwheel Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Gave it 3 stars BC of the crescent dough, to me working with crescent dough is hard. I will make it again only because my son actually like it. If you just have to use crescent dough; roll it out pair them up like it says then refrigerate for a bit, then do the filling and roll up it might work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was easy to make and kid friendly. I sauteed the veggies to soften beforehand and used a tube of store bought pizza dough. The family liked it and enjoyed the pizza dipping sauce. Did it wow me? No, but it was a nice break from the regular dinners I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Yummy, easy and a perfect mid week dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
These tasted good, but were extremely messy and made about 8 times more filling than I needed. Don't try to put one quarter of that filling on each rectangle. Just use the amount you know will actually work (a few tablespoons).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very solid flavor but lacking that something special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These got mixed reviews the last time I ate them. I think next time I'll follow another reviewer's advice and try with spinach instead of pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Delicious but messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I thought they were great. My kids loved them. We did change the pepperoni to sausage and add black olives bc that's the kind of pizza we like :) I do agree that the dough was a little off. I wanted a little more structure to the dough. The crescent rolls were too soft. I'll also be trying pizza crust next time. Still I consider them a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I made these with homemade "Pizza Hut Original Pan Pizza" crust and pizza sauce. I did put a little sauce spreaded on top of the dough before I put the filling on. My hubby loves these will make again. My hubby said these don't freeze well, and the bigger ones, which were the middle slices the dough didn't cook all the way. :( I probably won't do this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I liked these a lot! I didn't have all the veggies on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States