Pinwheel Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was easy to make and kid friendly. I sauteed the veggies to soften beforehand and used a tube of store bought pizza dough. The family liked it and enjoyed the pizza dipping sauce. Did it wow me? No, but it was a nice break from the regular dinners I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Yummy, easy and a perfect mid week dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
These tasted good, but were extremely messy and made about 8 times more filling than I needed. Don't try to put one quarter of that filling on each rectangle. Just use the amount you know will actually work (a few tablespoons).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very solid flavor but lacking that something special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
These got mixed reviews the last time I ate them. I think next time I'll follow another reviewer's advice and try with spinach instead of pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Delicious but messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I thought they were great. My kids loved them. We did change the pepperoni to sausage and add black olives bc that's the kind of pizza we like :) I do agree that the dough was a little off. I wanted a little more structure to the dough. The crescent rolls were too soft. I'll also be trying pizza crust next time. Still I consider them a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I made these with homemade "Pizza Hut Original Pan Pizza" crust and pizza sauce. I did put a little sauce spreaded on top of the dough before I put the filling on. My hubby loves these will make again. My hubby said these don't freeze well, and the bigger ones, which were the middle slices the dough didn't cook all the way. :( I probably won't do this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I liked these a lot! I didn't have all the veggies on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These are very easy to make, and are ready in almost no time. I would recommend doubling the salt. Also if you like your pepperoni crispy like me, throw them in a pan for a few minutes on medium-high heat for a few minutes. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junkion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Pipestone, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States