Pinwheel Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Everyone at my most recent party loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
The family liked these! I did press two rectangles together to make them a bit bigger since it was going to be a dinner dish. I was worried the cresents wouldn't cook evenly and be soggy, but no problem there! A definite repeat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
It made twice the amount of filling that I needed. Use two crescent roll tubes in stead of one, or use the remaining filler and add it to the pizza sauce. I thought it was odd not sauteing the onions and mushrooms, and I also found it odd that no egg or tomato paste had been added as a binder. I added one tsp of garlic. You find yourself wanting to add more ingredients: black olives for instance, some fresh basil. But remember to use 2 tubes instead of one, because you'll have a lot of left-over filling. It took 18 minutes to cook. The flavor of the dough was bland. It would be better if dusted with onion and garlic powder. Powder, not salt. These are salty enough. It really needs the dipping sauce to add the tomatoey taste. Excellent recipe but had to give it 4 stars for the "woulda coulda shoulda's"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I served these for a baby shower and then again for 4th of July. What a hit! Everyone loves the yummy flavors. It's so easy to substitute ingredients as well. You can add olives or take out mushrooms...whatever your preference! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I used the basic idea here and made mine with spinach instead of pepperoni. But they were delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Excellent dinner!!! Very yummy, I used it for a dinner and the family loved it. Instead of cutting the roll 4 times, I cut it 3. That made a little larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
We loved this. I made them for my daughter’s first birthday party and the whole family raved. I mixed all the cheeses and then only added a little onion and diced pepperoni to it. I also made them large by fusing all the dough together and then rolling it up and cutting it into 8 or 9 pieces. Seriously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Everything went fine in preparing as given. I really liked it better without the dipping sauce. It is a very good appetizer or party food. It was a bit too monotonous to be a main dish though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it is easy and good for my nephews. The taste is good, and it is fairly easy to make. I used a asiago cheese when making them to give it more flavor. Thanks.. will make again for the young ones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithshire, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe! I think next time I'm going to saute the peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States