Pinwheel Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
My son says it gets 4 1/2 stars, I say 4, because I think that you should mix up the cheese mixture set a little bit longer to meld the flavors together. I left out the mushrooms as we don't like them and I added chopped up green olives. So I left out the salt too. I also was in hurry and this was our dinner with a salad, so I just rolled the crescents out to a rectangle shape stuffed with mixture and rolled long way. I made 10 large pinwheels. Thank you we enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were so quick and easy! Hubby and I loved them. I made them pretty simple, cresant rolls, pizza sauce, pepperoni and mozzerella cheese. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I thought those were great! Quick and easy. I did use two containers of the crescents because the recipe makes a lot of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a great quick snack - or serve with a salad and make a meal of it. I meant to use 2 tubes of cresent roll dough, but discovered I only had 1, so I just jammed all the filling on the 4 rectangles. It worked fine. The only deviation I made from the recipe is that I baked them before cutting up and increased the baking time about 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURGUNDY2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Great idea !!! ... i basically bored the idea here and used ingredients that were on hand and less cheese but yet yummy. Turned out great. I did grill the vegs in a tsp of oil on stove top before using them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennette Paul
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I give this recipe 3 1/2 stars. I left out the onion and bell peppers and added 1/4 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp garlic powder. The filling turned out very well. I found that I do agree with many other reviewers who said that the crescent roll dough was too rich. I'm sure if I tried the recipe again with a pizza dough I will like it much more. Also, make sure you use a pizza sauce that you really like. We used the Contadina brand and we were not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennette Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Love these! I've made these a couple of times already & my family loves these. My hubby wants these as a meal all the time & even helped me assemble this. The cresent dough does make this a little rich, I'm going to try w/ refridgerated pizza dough next. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NorCalRN
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These were a hit! This was a great, easy way to incorporate the flavors of pizza into a healthy diet- I used fat free cottage cheese, reduced fat mozzarella and crescent dough, and left out most of the veggies. I used pizza seasoning instead of italian, and rather than only use the sauce for dipping- I put about 2 heaping spoonfuls of sauce into the cheese filling mixture. These turned out fantastic!! Will make many more times- Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These little guys are a lot of fun and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I agree that doubling the dough is necessary. Also, I sliced 1/2 of them into the "pinwheels" and then didn't slice the other half. The pinwheels leaked out a lot of the filling, whereas the uncut ones didn't. Delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States