Pinwheel Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were so quick and easy! Hubby and I loved them. I made them pretty simple, cresant rolls, pizza sauce, pepperoni and mozzerella cheese. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I thought those were great! Quick and easy. I did use two containers of the crescents because the recipe makes a lot of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSAN201

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a great quick snack - or serve with a salad and make a meal of it. I meant to use 2 tubes of cresent roll dough, but discovered I only had 1, so I just jammed all the filling on the 4 rectangles. It worked fine. The only deviation I made from the recipe is that I baked them before cutting up and increased the baking time about 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURGUNDY2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Great idea !!! ... i basically bored the idea here and used ingredients that were on hand and less cheese but yet yummy. Turned out great. I did grill the vegs in a tsp of oil on stove top before using them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennette Paul
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I give this recipe 3 1/2 stars. I left out the onion and bell peppers and added 1/4 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp garlic powder. The filling turned out very well. I found that I do agree with many other reviewers who said that the crescent roll dough was too rich. I'm sure if I tried the recipe again with a pizza dough I will like it much more. Also, make sure you use a pizza sauce that you really like. We used the Contadina brand and we were not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennette Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Love these! I've made these a couple of times already & my family loves these. My hubby wants these as a meal all the time & even helped me assemble this. The cresent dough does make this a little rich, I'm going to try w/ refridgerated pizza dough next. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NorCalRN
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These were a hit! This was a great, easy way to incorporate the flavors of pizza into a healthy diet- I used fat free cottage cheese, reduced fat mozzarella and crescent dough, and left out most of the veggies. I used pizza seasoning instead of italian, and rather than only use the sauce for dipping- I put about 2 heaping spoonfuls of sauce into the cheese filling mixture. These turned out fantastic!! Will make many more times- Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These little guys are a lot of fun and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I agree that doubling the dough is necessary. Also, I sliced 1/2 of them into the "pinwheels" and then didn't slice the other half. The pinwheels leaked out a lot of the filling, whereas the uncut ones didn't. Delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Everyone loved these. We followed the recipe with the exception that we each put our own 'topping' choices in the calzones. They didn't last very long. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States