Pinwheel Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
These were pretty good. We ate them on the road on our way to our vacation destination. I used refrigerated pizza dough instead of crescent dough. If I make these again, I would probably blend up some cottage cheese and use that in the place of the ricotta. We just don't like the ricotta very well for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyrood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I was not impressed with these at all although I think they could be great as I used to make them with sun dried tomatoes fetta cheese salami and olives with a small amount of herbs, these were much tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I was looking for an altternative to stromboli and hoped this would be a hit. We weren't crazy about these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I found these to be delicious and refreshing! Also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made these on two separate occasions and everyone loved them, even the children. I blended the ingredients in the food processor and added fresh basil, oregano and thyme. The kids asked what was in it and I told the the cheeses and seasoning. They loved them and they don't eat these veggies normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
These were good, easy and fairly quick. My 3 year old son loved helping me make them. I did pepperoni and mushroom and plain pepperoni. I also used the refridgerated pizza dough instead of the crescent rolls. Next time I may try adding the pizza sauce inside the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
We thought these were delish! A little salty, so lay low on the salt and italian seasoning. But besides that- yumerific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
Made my own calzone dough. I run out of ricotta cheese, so i used cream cheese instead and i guess i'm sticking with this version 'cause the pinwheels came out sooo tasty. Browned the onions, garlic, mushrooms and pepper first, actually added zucchini too, and substituted a can of tuna for the pepperoni (we're not big fans of pepperoni). Added a hard-boiled egg finely chopped. Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
My son says it gets 4 1/2 stars, I say 4, because I think that you should mix up the cheese mixture set a little bit longer to meld the flavors together. I left out the mushrooms as we don't like them and I added chopped up green olives. So I left out the salt too. I also was in hurry and this was our dinner with a salad, so I just rolled the crescents out to a rectangle shape stuffed with mixture and rolled long way. I made 10 large pinwheels. Thank you we enjoyed this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were so quick and easy! Hubby and I loved them. I made them pretty simple, cresant rolls, pizza sauce, pepperoni and mozzerella cheese. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States