Pinwheel Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I really changed these up because I don't like peppers or pepperoni-ha! I sauteed up unmeasured amounts of spinach, mushrooms and onion and cooked it until the mix was "dry". I added the cheeses and seasonings just like written. I used the garlic flavored cresent rolls. The flavor was great but I too had an issue with soggy on the outside. I don't think it was my filling. If I make them again I will follow a reviewers suggestion and not stuff them so much and roll them so tightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
The taste is awesome, however I ran into a issue when it came to the pinwheel part. It worked, no doubt - but I think I might have wrapped them too tightly. Wonderful on the outside, but SO soggy and doughy on the inside. I just don't think it had time to breathe in the oven. So, if I loosen up on the wrapping a bit, I think it'll be alright. Such a cute idea, though. If I perfect it next time, I think the kids will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was a good idea, but I think it could be better. The crescent roll taste didn't seem to go well with pizza flavors, and I had to bake for 15 minutes because it was still underdone in the center after 10 minutes. Pizza dough would've been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Great recipe, easy, and perfect for kids! I wouldn't say I'll never go back to regular calzones again because these are different and I love calzones, but they are great! The crescent roll dough adds a slight bit of sweetness which mixes well with the pizza ingredients. I will say that the onion is a strong flavor so if you aren't a big fan of onions it may be better to saute them first or omit them all together. I LOVE onions so I was happy with the recipe the way it was. Everyone in my family preferred them without dipping them in pizza sauce too, next time I may add a little marinara to the filling instead. This would also be a good recipe for a hearty appetizer or finger-food for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This was good but not exceptional so I doubt I make it again. If I do, I may add some more things for flavor like black olives and jalapinos or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Used cottage cheese, omitted onion and sauted the mushroom and pepper. It was very good, whole family ate it but it didn't hold shape very good. Maybe refrigerate the mix before spreading on dough?? Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
super easy to make, everyone gobbeled them up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I used pizza dough instead of crescent. They were pretty good but I don't know if I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Wow Lisa,this is a new and great idea.I loved the recipe.But I added instead of pepperoni seasoned chicken and it turned out to be amazing.Thank you hope to here more from you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noor

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was cool. The kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellye Renae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States