Pinwheel Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I'm giving this a 5 star score because the filling tasted GREAT! I made the filling the night before so maybe that helped meld the flavors (?). My version looked nothing like the photos. Mine were very flat and soggy. :-( The taste was good but, I was disappointed in their appearance. Also, the stuffing was bursting at the seams. The ratio of stuffing and 4 squares of crescent rolls is off. I think I'll use pizza dough next time. Definitely worth a 2nd attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatality

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a delicious recipe, but beware the picture vs. the directions! The recipe calls to unroll the dough into 4 sections, not 8. We ended up making these as calzone squares. Also, keep another can of cresent dough on hand. We used more than one can. We didn't use dipping sauce, the calzones are perfect on their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Taste was good but to hard to get the rolls to work with it & took to long for the rolls to be get done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made cheese and pepperoni using mini peps for the kids, and then "supreme" style for me and hubby. Used refrigerated pizza dough instead of crescent roll dough because I'm not a big refrigerated crescent roll fan and saw the suggestion in another review. They ended up being bigger than "mini" sized and were a big full meal for all of us. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaosmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I used pizza dough instead of crescent dough. I also added pizza sauce directly to the cheese mixture. I think it would have been really bland without the sauce. It turned out pretty well except for the fact that the pizza dough bubbled out a little in the oven. It did need a little more salt to my taste. It turned out pretty good. I might try it again with more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These were so easy to make. I've made these twice and they were a hit both times. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Fantastic treat for everyone. My son loved this recipe and said it was a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I made these for supper tonight for our family. Used crescent rolls- maybe needed to cook longer because they were a little bit mushy. I agree that the crescent rolls and pizza flavor didn't jive with me. I think might taste yummy with cheddar, bacon and onion. Might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I really changed these up because I don't like peppers or pepperoni-ha! I sauteed up unmeasured amounts of spinach, mushrooms and onion and cooked it until the mix was "dry". I added the cheeses and seasonings just like written. I used the garlic flavored cresent rolls. The flavor was great but I too had an issue with soggy on the outside. I don't think it was my filling. If I make them again I will follow a reviewers suggestion and not stuff them so much and roll them so tightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States