Pinwheel Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I edited these for a vegetarian guest and just put pineapple in instead of pepperoni and they were just as good as the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I'm giving this a 5 star score because the filling tasted GREAT! I made the filling the night before so maybe that helped meld the flavors (?). My version looked nothing like the photos. Mine were very flat and soggy. :-( The taste was good but, I was disappointed in their appearance. Also, the stuffing was bursting at the seams. The ratio of stuffing and 4 squares of crescent rolls is off. I think I'll use pizza dough next time. Definitely worth a 2nd attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatality

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was a delicious recipe, but beware the picture vs. the directions! The recipe calls to unroll the dough into 4 sections, not 8. We ended up making these as calzone squares. Also, keep another can of cresent dough on hand. We used more than one can. We didn't use dipping sauce, the calzones are perfect on their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Taste was good but to hard to get the rolls to work with it & took to long for the rolls to be get done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made cheese and pepperoni using mini peps for the kids, and then "supreme" style for me and hubby. Used refrigerated pizza dough instead of crescent roll dough because I'm not a big refrigerated crescent roll fan and saw the suggestion in another review. They ended up being bigger than "mini" sized and were a big full meal for all of us. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaosmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I used pizza dough instead of crescent dough. I also added pizza sauce directly to the cheese mixture. I think it would have been really bland without the sauce. It turned out pretty well except for the fact that the pizza dough bubbled out a little in the oven. It did need a little more salt to my taste. It turned out pretty good. I might try it again with more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
These were so easy to make. I've made these twice and they were a hit both times. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Fantastic treat for everyone. My son loved this recipe and said it was a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I made these for supper tonight for our family. Used crescent rolls- maybe needed to cook longer because they were a little bit mushy. I agree that the crescent rolls and pizza flavor didn't jive with me. I think might taste yummy with cheddar, bacon and onion. Might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States