Pinwheel Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by hannah
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
These are such a unique and delicious cookie! The date fulling is like a caramel swirl in the middle. I used half butter and half shortening for more flavor. The dough then needs to be refridgerated so it is firm enought to roll out. It is a soft dough, so I rolled it out on parchment so it would not stick to the counter when I rolled it up. It worked great. I rolled the dough into two 12x12 inch squares before spreading on filling and rolling. I found that the roll actually needed to be put in the freezer for several hours before it was hard enough to cut into nice cookies. I cut then 1/4 inch thick and baked at 350 for 8-9 minutes. They are soft, chewy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was my favorite cookie as a child. I could never get enough. We've always made these using crisco and they are nice and soft with a crispy edge. I was taught to divide the dough in half and roll into two jelly-roll shaped pieces. Refrigerate the dough overnight and bake the following day or whenever. The dough will keep for several days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I am always looking for a new cookie recipe and I was delighted these turned out so well. The combination of the dates & walnuts were great. I too only baked about 8 minutes and they were nicely browned on top & bottom. I will be making these often. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
yummy and easy. i sprinkled mine with powdered sugar. next time i think i will ice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
These cookies were wondeful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyner
Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Easy & Sweet, I'll be making them again. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
did as other reviewers advised, i refrigerated it before rolling cause the dough was too sticky when first mixed. then take it out and let it sit for a while before rolling it and adding the filling. then throw it in the fridge again for an hour for so. still hard to cut but was pretty fine. as it turned out, the cookies looked really pretty when done!! and tasted nice,too! but if your dates were as sweet as mine, i suggest cutting off some sugar. its overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Bravo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
The filling is really good and sweet but I wasn't too pleased with the dough. I did as others recommended and refrigerated it overnight but it was a real pain to work with. It cracked big time when I tried to roll out. It was even more difficult to roll up. I'll use the filling recipe again for sure but I think I'm going to see if I can find another recipe for the actual cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This dough is a huge failure. Even after chilling, it falls apart and is hard to get this in a roll without it crumbling. Also, you need to bake these until they are golden brown and somewhat crispier, not pale as in this picture. Otherwise they fall apart and they don't taste as good. They don't keep well and the dough starts tasting stale fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States