Pinwheel Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I divided the dough in half to roll it. This will make the dough easier to work with and will make a neater pinwheel. I used milk chocolate in the one half and strawberry jam on the other and enjoyed them equally. However, if you use jam, I would recommend that you spray your cookie sheet with Pam spray first because the jam may leak out and stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2000
I used creamy peanutbutter for smoother more refined cookie. They were served at a party rated the best cookie of the party. Vicky
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was a great recipe!! I changed a couple of things... I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 1 cup white sugar (this keeps the cookies a little softer) and 2/3 cup peanut butter - we like ours a little extra peanut buttery! I also used an overflowing cup of chocolate chips. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2005
These cookies are delicious. I used creamy peanut butter because I did not have crunchy peanut butter. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This cookie is awesome. I sent some to my sons friends at college and that night they wanted more. Here is a tip. If you cut the roll in half and put it in a glass and lay it on its side it retains the round shape. After 25 minutes it should be good to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily P.
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
A few handy tips and these cookies aren't hard to handle at all, and the final product is beautiful and delicious! First, spreading out the dough that much with your fingers is just about impossible to do evenly. Add a large piece of parchment or wax paper on top of the dough (of course there is a sheet below the dough also) and then use a rolling pin to spread the dough out. Peel back the top piece of parchment paper and you have a nice, smooth surface to spread out your chocolate. After the chocolate is spread, use the bottom piece of parchment to help you roll up the dough, by picking up the edge near you and holding it up while you roll over the dough with your hand. Continue til the whole roll is done- don't try to pick it up until it's all the way rolled. I put it in the freezer for 30 minutes. The dough wasn't too hard, and made it very easy to slice. I had to increase the bake time a couple of minutes for the first batch since the dough was so cold going in. The cookies will fall apart if you don't let them cool at least 5 minutes on the sheet before taking them off. Beautiful, soft cookies, with a good balance of peanut butter and chocolate. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This cookie recipe is a 100 years old. My mom used to make them when we were little and they are a family favorite. It takes some practice getting the rolling down, but once you have it these cookies are well worth it. Especially for peanut butter and chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Flavor - out of this world good!!! Getting these to look good as a final product - not so easy. After making the dough, it was very moist, and going against my better judgement, I stuck with the recipe and did not add any extra flour. I spread with the melted chocolate and did my best to roll this. Following the advice of a previous reviewer, I used the parchment paper to roll this. It was very difficult to roll with the dough being so moist. I did finally manage to roll it and refrigerated it for about 3 hours before baking. It did cut and bake nicely, but the cookies still don't look like I was expecting or hoping for. But, they taste so good, no one here really cares what they look like. I will try again, and adjust the dough. Also thinking of just making peanut butter cookes and swirling in some melted chocolate before rolling into cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I probably made the cookie layer too thin so I had a lot more swirls, but they were still delicious, even with reduced fat PB! I tasted them the next day and they were JUST what I was looking for. They taste like these peanut butter cookies that I've only had at work before and can't resist every time...now I can make them on my own! I don't even think that they need the chocolate swirl, throw in some chocolate chips and I think they would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
These tasted great, but I had a hard time rolling the log. It may have been to hot here (over 100 degrees). I may have also not made the layers thin enough. They were more like peanut butter chocolate chunk, but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States