Pinwheel Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Flavor - out of this world good!!! Getting these to look good as a final product - not so easy. After making the dough, it was very moist, and going against my better judgement, I stuck with the recipe and did not add any extra flour. I spread with the melted chocolate and did my best to roll this. Following the advice of a previous reviewer, I used the parchment paper to roll this. It was very difficult to roll with the dough being so moist. I did finally manage to roll it and refrigerated it for about 3 hours before baking. It did cut and bake nicely, but the cookies still don't look like I was expecting or hoping for. But, they taste so good, no one here really cares what they look like. I will try again, and adjust the dough. Also thinking of just making peanut butter cookes and swirling in some melted chocolate before rolling into cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This was a great recipe!! I changed a couple of things... I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 1 cup white sugar (this keeps the cookies a little softer) and 2/3 cup peanut butter - we like ours a little extra peanut buttery! I also used an overflowing cup of chocolate chips. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Not enough PB taste for me. I was able to roll out dough fine on my baking mat (covered it w/ parchment paper and used rolling pin) and was able to carefully spread chocolate fine too. But the dough was too soft to roll up well. If I made again, I would add more flour and refrigerate PB dough first (although in fairness I live in high humidity and often have to add flour). Not enough taste for the amount of work in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
These tasted great, but I had a hard time rolling the log. It may have been to hot here (over 100 degrees). I may have also not made the layers thin enough. They were more like peanut butter chocolate chunk, but they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I probably made the cookie layer too thin so I had a lot more swirls, but they were still delicious, even with reduced fat PB! I tasted them the next day and they were JUST what I was looking for. They taste like these peanut butter cookies that I've only had at work before and can't resist every time...now I can make them on my own! I don't even think that they need the chocolate swirl, throw in some chocolate chips and I think they would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This cookie recipe is a 100 years old. My mom used to make them when we were little and they are a family favorite. It takes some practice getting the rolling down, but once you have it these cookies are well worth it. Especially for peanut butter and chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily P.
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
A few handy tips and these cookies aren't hard to handle at all, and the final product is beautiful and delicious! First, spreading out the dough that much with your fingers is just about impossible to do evenly. Add a large piece of parchment or wax paper on top of the dough (of course there is a sheet below the dough also) and then use a rolling pin to spread the dough out. Peel back the top piece of parchment paper and you have a nice, smooth surface to spread out your chocolate. After the chocolate is spread, use the bottom piece of parchment to help you roll up the dough, by picking up the edge near you and holding it up while you roll over the dough with your hand. Continue til the whole roll is done- don't try to pick it up until it's all the way rolled. I put it in the freezer for 30 minutes. The dough wasn't too hard, and made it very easy to slice. I had to increase the bake time a couple of minutes for the first batch since the dough was so cold going in. The cookies will fall apart if you don't let them cool at least 5 minutes on the sheet before taking them off. Beautiful, soft cookies, with a good balance of peanut butter and chocolate. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This cookie is awesome. I sent some to my sons friends at college and that night they wanted more. Here is a tip. If you cut the roll in half and put it in a glass and lay it on its side it retains the round shape. After 25 minutes it should be good to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Atco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I was in the mood for peanut butter and chocolate cookies and happened upon this recipe. I got to admit they are a bit of work! But the end result is delicious and does deserve five stars on it's own. The reason I give this recipe four stars though is because the cookies did not puff up as I expected, it seemed to when it came out the oven but it quickly fell into this thin and semi-crisp type of cookie. Still enjoyable though. I may give this one another try, really does taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I do believe I need to practice at making pinwheel cookies! I tried these last week and was tired and in a hurry so I did as one reviewer suggested and used whole chocolate chips. I wouldn't recommend that--they just fell apart completely so I just sort of smooshed them all together and make regular cookies. I tried again today, and my pinwheels were log shaped--only a few looked pretty. So I think I need some practice at this! I melted the chocolate in the microwave (just melt for a min, stir, and continue until it is all melted) and spread it out over the cookies. They are very good--nice mix of chocolate and peanut butter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States