Pinto Beans With Mexican-Style Seasonings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Perfect as written. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I decided to try something new with my pinto beans. I nearly matched the recipe. They had Rotel's Chili Tomatoes and Green Chili available so I used 2 cans of that. I used chicken stock as well. I added one chopped jalapeño pepper, one quarter cup of chopped celery and will add fresh parsley with the cilantro at the correct time. I used the garlic powder and used 5 smashed garlic cloves as well. I used my smoked ham hocks that I original purchased to make my beans with. So it is going to be really good! Serving with corn bread tonight for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Oh my goodness!! These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Very good recipe. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granmaw5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Easy to make vegetarian! While we did make some changes, I believe the recipe would be great even if we had not. We did not add the bacon and used roasted tomatoes, added a red jalapeño and 4 cloves of galic. We used a potato masher on the beans when done too. This would be so good on a veggie hotdog! This went very well with 'Sweet Corn Bread' also from this site...sweet with the spicy, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
love this recipe. The only thing I changed was that I added more of the spices, but I like a lot of spice. Otherwise, they turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Lambert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Great recipe! I made a few changes based on what was in my pantry. I used ham shanks instead of bacon, one can of Rotel and one can of petite diced tomatoes and, 3/4 of the amount of cumin called for in the recipe. Nice change from our usual beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Really delicious and economical staple. I made a batch last week as directed (minus bacon and subbing onion powder) and am making another this week. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hblythe
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Eliminated bacon and salt - the flavor was still great. Served it over Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread and added a dollop of sour cream on top. Absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great recipe it's a keeper and the hit of the Mexican dinner party. Did saute the bacon, onions with fresh garlic first. Added Mexican Oregano while sauteing along with the other spices, brings out the nuttiness and flavor. Added two smoked ham hocks as well, so I only added 1/4 Lb bacon. Used chicken broth as well with 2 Tbs of tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Santa Maria-Style Beans

This spicy California bean dish is a classic partner for grilled steak.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States