Pinto Bean Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Ok this dip is good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doober Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The only change I made was to use the low fat cottage cheese. Very yummy!! Went well with my pita chips!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
We didn't care for this. The texture is odd - very pasty. There isn't much flavor to speak of. Sorry - I wanted to like it, but this just isn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My husband and I found this dip to be nothing like hummus. The texture was too pasty, and the flavors did not mix well. Thanks for the recipe. We are always looking for new things to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
it was really great, i put it on toasted pita bread but i probably wouldnt use so much dill next time, its a little overpowering. but otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I only made a couple of changes, I substituted low fat cream cheese for the cottage cheese because it was what I had, and adjusted a few spices. Warmed up between two tortillas was exactly what I was looking for. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
i'm not sure why others mentioned it, but b/c of the ingredients, this is nothing like hummus. an okay little dip that was super easy to make. i used fresh dill b/c i had it on hand & it complemented the cottage cheese well. the over all texture was a bit pasty, requiring me to eat fresh tomatoes and cucumbers w/ it to give it more moisture. it would be nice on a sandwich or a pita, but not alone w/ crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I wanted to like this but I just didn't. The garlic was overpowering for some reason and I think I squirted in too much lemon juice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was much better than I thought it would be! I added a little more garlic (surprise surprise) and it really was very hummus-like. With some crackers, this is going to make great - healthy! - snacking over the weekend. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This is a very good alternative to hummous. Very easy to make. I made it w/out the dill and it was fine without. Very good as a spread on bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Saint Paddy's Dill Dip

A colorful, creamy dip that’s perfect for celebrating St. Patrick's Day.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States