Pinto Bean Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I would've given this 5 stars if it added pecans! However even without pecans it would have been yummy (especially for people who have nut allergies but some crunch factor really makes a difference). I reduced the sugar by 1/3 and it was sweet enough, would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
If I had mashed up the beans better, I think this would have been a bigger hit. However my sons figured out it was different, so they were already assuming they would not like it. Would try this again if I could figure out a substitute for the dark corn syrup that my diabetic DH can consume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Fantastic, try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hansville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I tried this pie because my husband loves pecan pies, but we have a relatively tight budget, so don't purchase pecans often for much of anything except salads. We tend to spend the budget on plenty of produce & any discretionary food budget $'s on parmesan & etc. In the past, I considered trying peanuts instead of pecans, but my husband was dubious, so I didn't try that. When I heard of beans in a 'pecan' pie, it just cracked me up so much that *I* decided that my husband had to try a pie this way. My daughter did the actual mixing & baking. She did a fairly good job. My family had mixed reviews on this pie. However, before sharing our results, I need to admit that we underbaked this pie a tad. Perhaps the texture of the beans might be different if it was baked a little longer. That said, as it stands, my husband is inclined to think that the beans in themselves are not a problem, but that he would like a little crunch. So I'm thinking that substituting some peanuts for some beans would work better. Even peanuts have a significant expense for our particular budget, especially when compared with beans. So next time, we'll try about 1/3 C of peanuts. Also, I think that rather than mashing the beans roughly, I'll turn the 2/3rds cut of beans +nuts out onto a cutting board & chop them roughly using a chef's knife. Other than that, the recipe is alright, but my husband likes the pie base of his mother's pie so I'll try the beans & peanuts in that base next time. Thanks 4 the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I baked this pie in early1970,ever one thought it was pecan,i had lost my recipe,so now i can fool some more people,It was printed in the Lubbock Texas paper along with a lot more bean recipes,i just lost my whole paper when we moved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Made this for the 1st time for Thanksgiving 2010. It was nice. next time i make it (and i shall) i will use less sugar (just a bit too sweet for me). Nethertheless it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Vick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southend-On-Sea, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This pie is great, especially for nut lovers (like me) who cannot eat nuts anymore...doctor's orders. :o(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
I prefer the real thing, not mock pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
my familys loves this pie i love it its easy to make.there are no leftovers here its not to sweet and not heavy light to taste good not only for the hollidays but for anytime i am going to make one for the new year for work i better make two :) thank you for sharing i am mailing it on to my sisters in fl thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States