Pinto Bean Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
My husband thought it was ok, I thought it tasted like pintos with lots of sugar in it. I did add the nuts and a tad of vanilla, but it just wasn't what I wanted out of a pie. Even tho it was easy, I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
My boyfriend bought a bunch of dried pinto beans, and I wondered "what am I going to do with all of these?" This was one of the recipes that came through my search, and it intrigued me. I added a teaspoon of vanilla, some more nuts (about half a cup, or a little more), and I needed to bake it about 20 more minutes until the filling was set. But I must say, it was eaten up very quickly. It turned out better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennieH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
It was ok. Not the best. My husband thought it was alright, but thought it was weird, putting pinto beans in a pie. He was born in Mexico, and he says that this is not authentic. I doubt I will make this again. My husband said I'm better off making a real pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
It was ok. There was too much filling for one pie. I'm not sure if I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
Excellent, very easy to make, look like pecan, taste wonderful. I made it for the residents at my job and all the kids love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
My husband had bean pie years ago, and he was saying how good they are..well he was right. This recipe is excellent! My son could not believe that it had pintos in it. The only thing I added was some good Mexican vanilla, and extra nuts. We live in New Mexico and you would think the restaurants around here would have pinto pie...hum...perhaps I could sell them!! LOL Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
My pie turned out ok. It was tasty, but I think I had beat my mix too much, it had a crust on it when it was done. I will try this again for sure. It was very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLUCRISIA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2000
I've been looking for this recipe for a long time. it really taste just like pecan pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States