Pink Stuff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this for the first time for an outdoor cookout and it was a huge hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. Everyone said it was so light and cool for a summer cookout. I didn't think it was too sweet. It was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This fruit salad is shamefully good. I've been making it a couple times a year (for holidays) for almost a decade, thought I'd written a review before! I leave out the pecans, use an 8 oz container of Cool Whip (because I've never, ever seen a 12 oz one- it's good either way), and add a lot more fruit. Most recently I made this for Christmas and for the fruit used the 20 oz can of crushed pineapple, a 25 oz can of peaches (diced), a 25 oz can of pears (diced), a 16 oz can of fruit cocktail, and a small can of mandarin oranges. The exact and type of fruit doesn't really matter, I just tossed in everything in the pantry and it was wonderful as always :) Not fancy by any means and definitely a dessert rather than a salad! My in-laws really enjoyed it, too, but it's pretty ugly looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
About 40 years ago, I was given a recipe for Holiday Salad. After a couple of years, the children in the family began calling this recipe The Pink Stuff. Was I surprised to find this recipe recently for one of our family gatherings for the Pink Stuff. I make it for Holidays and it remains a family favorite. My original recipe calls for the addition of tablespoon of lemon juice added to the condensed milk before adding other ingredients, and the addition of 8 oz carton of sour cream. Makes amazing Pink Stuff for more than 40 years. Also good frozen in small plastic containers for any left overs for go-containers. I do, however leave out the pecans because one year I got several "bad" pecans that ruined the thing. I have left out pecans ever since. Add the lemon juice and sour cream for even better pink stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My grandmother used to make this all the time. But we use strawberry pie filling instead of cherries and we don't add in any pecans. I absolutely love it! It's so fluffy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I have been making this for 20years.. I use Strawberry pie filling, Walnuts, and ADD 8oz SOUR CREAM!! If you like the original recipe, and/or you think that its too sweet... ADD SOUR CREAM! it was in the recipe all along .. but someone left it out here I see!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
My wife and I started making this in the 70s. We used to freeze it and eat like ice cream. It is delicious and I will give it the most stars available (5). Since she has passed last year, I sometimes get craving for things we used to fix together. We called it Cherry Nut Dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This also known in my family as "Pink Stuff"! But, it has some additional ingredients: an 8 oz. package of softened cream cheese, 1/3 cup of lemon juice beat together, then fold in the other ingredients listed with the exception of only 1/2 cup chopped pecans. Oh, and we freeze it! Defrost enough to scoop out, or put in paper liners in muffin cups, freeze then unmold and store in a plastic bag, taking out only what you need. My nephew was the one who named it "Pink Stuff" as in, Aunt Denise, did you bring any of that Pink Stuff with you? Haha!! It was known as Frozen Fruit Salad before that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
My husband has me make him this "stuff" about once a month. I always load it down with Pecans because in his mind that makes it healthy. This is an excellent recipe and simple to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
One thing our family adds to this "So YUMMY Pink Stuff" is 4oz. softened Cream Cheese. It tastes like almost like a light cheesecake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asnunez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This salad sounded really good and the reviews were wonderful, but when I made it...there just wasn't enough flavor. Lots of sweet but it needed something else. I was pretty disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States