Pink Princess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was super simple to make. So simple that my five year old son made it almost by himself. I used fresh strawberries as I had some that were about to go bad. Everything else I kept the same. I did bake it in a 9x13 baking dish, as to make it easy to frost. I plan on frosting it with Cool Whip frosting (1 container Cool Whip, 1 small box instant vanilla pudding, 1/2 c. milk). Strawberry cake is my husband's favorite so I'm sure he'll love it. I'll update after dinner to say how he liked it. EDITED TO ADD: Nope. He didn't like it. I ended up passing it out to neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This recipe works great - and tastes a lot better than I expected! I'm making an actual pink princess cake tomorrow for a coworker's daughter, so I took this recipe for a test drive today. Turned out moist, tasty, and pink (PLENTY pink enough). I was worried about having big, wet strawberry chunks in places, but the strawberries got mashed and distributed through the batter while mixing. I'm definitely going to use this recipe again tomorrow, - and am reaping the rewards of my 'test' tonight with whipped cream, strawberries, and chocolate syrup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This cake has a particular texture and flavor to it; for some people it makes it absolutely delicious, but for others it is hardly edible. I liked it well enough. I served it at my daughter's birthday party and some people ate it up happily, but many didn't care for it. Since it was so middle of the road, I doubt I would ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Pretty good! I used the leftover strawberry juice to make a glaze and I sprinkled the top with coconut. I think I overcooked it a bit, but that's ok. Very strawberry-ie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dousman, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Wonderfuly moist, soft and the best cake. I added a small amount of milk to it and ate it with out the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
My family absolutely LOVES this cake. I drizzled confectioner sugar and milk to top off this cake. NOT to sweet and NOT to dry....JUST PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKSMITH1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
Just okay- kinda dry and not as pretty pink as I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This recipe was Okay...it wasn't great, but it wasn't bad either. I think Strawberry box cakes taste exactly the same. I used applesauce instead of oil to make the fat content lower, maybe that affected the recipe. Although people seemed to like this cake, I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Delicious. I don't think I'll ever buy strawberry cake mix again! With ice cream, coolwhip and the leftover juice from thawing out the strawberries, it's a strawberry shortcake alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2001
Needed to cook about 10 minutes longer for me anyway. Looks very pretty with fresh strawberries and powdered sugar. All the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States