Pink Princess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This cake was really simple to make and it tasted great! I made one for my coworkers and another for my family. I also added a cream cheese frosting that i drizzled on top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I very much enjoyed this cake. Such an extreme strawberry taste, and so moist. I used rainbow chip frosting for my finishing touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by heybejay
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This is a very tasty cake. Good strawberry flavor, but could have been a bit moister. I used a 16 oz container of frozen strawberries, as I could not find any 10 oz containers. Next time I will leave the juice in rather than draining it. The recipe seems like it could use more liquid as it was a very thick batter. That being said, I will use this recipe again. Other than it being not as moist as I would have liked, It was a great tasting cake. Definitely worth making. Sprinkled the top with powered sugar and served with whipped cream and fresh strawberries on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heybejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was good as a cake, but when I tried making mini-cakes, the outsides browned very quickly and the "crust to cake ratio" wasn't very tasty. I say stick with an angel food pan or bundt cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is a freaking yummy cake! I had to use a gluten-free cake mix as I was making the cake for a friend and no one could tell it was gluten-free. This cake tasted just like eating a strawberry! And it was so dang easy. I think I'm going to try experimenting with other flavors :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made this to take to my daughter in laws for a memorial day cookout. It was EXTREMELY thick when I mixed it. I couldn't pour it into the pan. I had to scoop it. Maybe I should not have drained the strawberries. It seemed to need more liquids. It ended up being very dry(chokingly) and burned around the edges even after only 25 minutes. I would have given it a one star but it was a pretty pink color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Awesome... it got rave reviews for my happy may party, Although I frosted it with whipped topping, chopped strawberries, and strawberry yogurt! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thompson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYJEN
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Very moist with a great "real" strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Excellent recipe. I had a dear co-worker (God rest her soul) who would always make this cake for me as a birthday present. 13 years later, I have found her recipe. My first attempt I used an Angel food cake mix, and it was a disaster. Exceptionally tall in size, and very dry. Almost like chewing on an eraser. My second attempt was pure success! I subsituted canned strawberry pie filling for the fresh strawberries, and gelatin. Most geltin mixes are ARTIFICALLY FLAVORED (yuck). I also added sliced walnuts to the top of the batter after pouring it into the bundt cake pan and then pressed the walnuts into the batter. The walnuts help "defeat" the overly sweet flavor of the strawberry pie filling. Lastly, always use brown eggs. They make the cake very flavorful. The deep magenta/fuschia color of the inside of the cake is beautiful. The outside is a deep brown (I suppose due to the carmelization of the strawberry filling. I made a plain sugar glaze and drizzled it lightly over the top of the cake and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was super simple to make. So simple that my five year old son made it almost by himself. I used fresh strawberries as I had some that were about to go bad. Everything else I kept the same. I did bake it in a 9x13 baking dish, as to make it easy to frost. I plan on frosting it with Cool Whip frosting (1 container Cool Whip, 1 small box instant vanilla pudding, 1/2 c. milk). Strawberry cake is my husband's favorite so I'm sure he'll love it. I'll update after dinner to say how he liked it. EDITED TO ADD: Nope. He didn't like it. I ended up passing it out to neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States