Pink Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
My Great grandmother would make this for me as a child during the holidays. She would add a can of drained crushed pineapple to it and it was like a party in your mouth! She was able to whip evaporated milk, I have never managed to accomplish that. I started using regular whipping cream instead but it is still so light tasting but with that " something extra special" added. I have to wonder how old the recipe is?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
My evaporated milk never whipped up, so my filling didn't set in the refrigerator. I put it in the freezer instead, and the filling reminds me of sherbet. Would be good with a citrus jello too. It was a little sweet so I would decrease the sugar to about 3/4 of a cup, and will definitely make this again. The kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great last minute recipe. YOU HAVE TO MAKE SURE EVERYTHING IS COLD, ECSPECIALLY THE MILK! THE STRAWBERRY MIX MUST ALSO COOL DOWN! A lot of people commented that it didn't set, fold together good or milk didn't fluff and it is probably because the mix was too hot or the milk wasn't cold enough. Tasted great and my two year old loved helping and tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
well . . .the pie wasn't pink but that's bc I used lemon jello not strawberry. I used lemon bc I had half a package of lemon jello and I only wanted one pie. It didn't completely set for me either, but i didn't let the jello mix melt. Bf loved it and ate 4 pieces of it last night. So even though it didn't set (and it's probably bc I didn't make sure the jello mix was cool), this is a simple recipe that could have a great presentation if I'd just follow the directions. I'll probably make again and try to be less impatient in making it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Not sure what went wrong. My milk never truely whipped. It seemed too soft. Once I added the gelatin mixture, it just all becam runny and wouldn't fold together. I did stir it up to combine and refrigerated it. It became and EXTRA SOFT pie, not fully set yet not runny. The taste was fine...nothing to write home about though. I think I'll delete this one from my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wtpooh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This pie wasn't bad for a last minute dessert. I actually halfed it and used 1/2 strawberry jello and 1/2 peach jello since there was enough for 2 pies (That way, I had 1 peach & 1 strawberry pie). I also made sure the jello mixture was at room temp. before folding in the fluffed evaporated milk. They both turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Never set up. Don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
maybe i did something wrong, this never set, just went really runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This recipe didn't work for me. When I combined the gelatin and milk, it "de-fluffed" the milk and it never set up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
My Grandma used to make me pink pie when I was a kid. It has been my favorite ever since. I add fresh fruit or fruit cocktail to mine. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States