Pink Grapefruit Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I"m giving this 5 stars for my adapted recipe. I usually find it annoying when someone rates something 5 stars but it's been completely altered from the original, but, here I am doing it! I came here looking for a grapefruit sorbet recipe, and found this one, but I was concerned about the "ice cube effect" you get when you freeze sorbet. I Found another recipe with the addition of Vodka, which I know hinders rock hard freezing, so I combined the two. I used 3 cups of pink grapefruit juice, and 1 cup of Simple Syrup made of Splenda Blend for Baking (50% sugar, 50% splenda), and 3 tablespoons of Vodka. That's it. I added it to the canister of my gel ice cream maker, and churned for about 30 minutes. It was very soft and liquidy, but froze nicely and was delicious. We added the rest to a container and put it in the freezer. The next day, I pulled it out and was surprised to see that it had NOT frozen rock hard. It was now, 24 hours later, the perfect consistency for sorbet and sherbert. I've now made it several times, each being sure to add 3 tablespoons of Vodka, which I'm convinced is helping with the freezing consistency (because Vodka doesn't freeze).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I think this sorbet is more of a granita but why hash terms? Whatever you call it, it is still yummy! Because I do not have an ice cream maker, this recipe is a little more labor intensive (you have to periodically and consistently stir the mixture while in the freezer to get the best texture, and to avoid an ice block). HOWEVER, it is SO worth it! I love serving it to guests in the summer as a refreshing treat. Several people have asked me for the recipe, so thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
So refreshing!!! I have a new Cuisinart ice cream/frozen yogurt machine which I'd been wanting to try out, and this sounded so good. I used ruby red grapefruit, and only needed 2 1/2 to make the 2 cups of juice. I did add 4 tsps of vodka to the mix to keep it from getting too hard, and that worked well. I forgot to add the food coloring, but the grapefruits had a lot of color, so it came out a real pale pink anyway. Thanks SO much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very delicious! It tastes exactly like the best pink grapefruit you ever had only better! I made it with 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Splenda to cut down on the calories and no one could tell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Ruidoso, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
great recipie i swithed the grapefruit juice for pommegranite juice and ommitted the food coloring my kids loved it. what a great way to slip in extra antioxidents without them knowing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
this recipe was easy and fun. i substituted and orange for half of one of the grapefruits and it worked really well. I have a ice cream maker, but my friend and i couldnt figure out to use it so we used the cake pan method. Everything was easy with step by step easy to follow instructions. great light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
LOVED IT!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Hubby pronounced it "perfection". I used xylitol instead of sugar and "lite" corn syrup with splenda. To zest I saved time by using a peeler around the circumference of the grapefruit. Very impressive intermezzo course or light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I have made this twice, and changed a few things. This is a great recipe the way it is, but I use it as guideline/base. My daughter loves the fruity parts, meat?, of the grapefruit (or lemon, lime, or blood orange that I make) in the sorbet. She also like passion fruit. So I keep the grapefruit meat in, no pulp, or white portion or casing. I used Torani Passion Fruit syrup in place of the corn syrup. Since that syrup is a little lighter than corn syrup, I add some more sugar. I have it all in the pot and cook it down a little until it is a light syrupy consistency. Chill it a bit, and then place it in the Cuisinart Ice Cream/Sorbet maker, until it is frozen consistency. Place in individual 1 cup serving cups with lids and freeze. My daughter and others always ask for more. I also made fresh lavender sorbet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is my first time making this in a new Hamilton Beach ice cream maker. A couple of suggestions for the syrup part, to add even more grapefruit flavor (no such thing as "too much"!) - I took the 2 cups of pulpy red grapefruit juice and blended it with a stick blender before I strained it. The resulting juice is thick and flavorful. Because I used red grapefruit (and needed only 2), I didn't need to add any food coloring. On the sugar syrup - I threw in a Tbsp grapefruit zest with the peels and won't remove that when I remove the larger peel pieces. One last thing I might try the second time I make it - I imagine this would be fabulous with a splash of Absolut's Ruby Red flavored vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States