Pineapple and Basil Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
AMAZING! I had high hopes because I had a watermelon basil salad a while back in San Francisco...but this was even better than I had hoped. I just pureed everything and poured into popsicle molds - no need for an ice cream maker if you don't have one. I can't even describe the flavor - it's kind of how pinapple and coconut come together to make a whole other undescribable flavor (pina colada)....this is the same thing! DELICIOUS and unlike anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I had no idea this would be so tasty. I wanted a way to use my bumper crop of basil and this is it. I'm making more and going to store it in the freezer. By the way, I do not have an ice cream maker I made mine in a Ziploc freezer container. One batch I added extra basil and about a cup of milk...also WONDERFUL!~ this is an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callinectes Sapidus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Wow. This was unexpectedly delicious! The two ingredients together sounds crazy, but man, it is soo good! I made the sorbet without a machine - it's not difficult as long as you have nothing else to do but scrape the mixture about every 20min for a few hours. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Great flavor combination! I would only suggest an additional step in the preparation: straining of the blended mixture. Unless you like pineapple pulp and basil chunks in your sorbet, that is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
While good enough to make again, I'll halve the amount of basil next time. I thought using 1/4 cup overpowered the pineapple. However, my pineapple was not extremely fresh, and may have lacked some flavor to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very refreshing! The pineapple I used was too ripe to need even a 1/4 C sugar; it even rendered enough juice on its own, so I didn't need to supplement with additional liquid. Because I'm growing several types of basil this year, I thought the peppery anise flavor of Thai basil would work especially well with these sweet pineapple pops -- and the sweet/savory pairing did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Okay...let me start off by saying I did not make this...a good friend did, but since I use this site and put a lot of stock in the reviews...I thought I'd review it. YUM!!!! I'm not vegan, I'm not generally a huge fan of basil or pineapple, but we had a dinner party last night and there were a couple of vegans, so my friend made this and the pineapple/orange sorbet recipe from Allrecipes and this one was the favorite. The other was good, but the pineapple/basil just was SO fresh and delicious that it was the preferred. The basil and pineapple compliment each other very nicely. I have added this to my MacGourmet (love it) Recipe program and will be making it soon. If you're on the fence about giving this one a shot, I can highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is weird and wonderful!!! I served it at an outdoor picnic, and it was well received. I might have gotten a little heavy with the basil, but it's one of my favorite flavors. I did strain the mixture after I pureed it, and certainly agree with the recommendation to do so. Don't be timid! Give this one a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Trying to use up my abundance of basil right now and ran across this recipe. Wow, this is fantastic! My pineapple was perfectly ripe and sweet, so I added very little sugar. No icy texture that I often find in making sorbet, this one is just smooth and creamy. The first layer of flavor is the pineapple, then the subtle taste of basil kicks in. I cut the recipe in half, used my 1-qt. Cuisinart ice cream maker, and had sorbet 20 minutes later. And if you look at how this recipe breaks down nutritionally, you can eat it guilt free. I would definitely serve this to company, and I know this will be made again very soon. Thanks for sharing your unusual recipe, it's a winner in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I mixed it up a bit and used a handful (maybe 1/4 cup) of cilantro instead of the basil and added a bit of vodka so it would be less chunky. yumm yumm. thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States