Pineapple and Basil Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
AMAZING! I had high hopes because I had a watermelon basil salad a while back in San Francisco...but this was even better than I had hoped. I just pureed everything and poured into popsicle molds - no need for an ice cream maker if you don't have one. I can't even describe the flavor - it's kind of how pinapple and coconut come together to make a whole other undescribable flavor (pina colada)....this is the same thing! DELICIOUS and unlike anything else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I had no idea this would be so tasty. I wanted a way to use my bumper crop of basil and this is it. I'm making more and going to store it in the freezer. By the way, I do not have an ice cream maker I made mine in a Ziploc freezer container. One batch I added extra basil and about a cup of milk...also WONDERFUL!~ this is an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callinectes Sapidus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Wow. This was unexpectedly delicious! The two ingredients together sounds crazy, but man, it is soo good! I made the sorbet without a machine - it's not difficult as long as you have nothing else to do but scrape the mixture about every 20min for a few hours. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
While good enough to make again, I'll halve the amount of basil next time. I thought using 1/4 cup overpowered the pineapple. However, my pineapple was not extremely fresh, and may have lacked some flavor to begin with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Great flavor combination! I would only suggest an additional step in the preparation: straining of the blended mixture. Unless you like pineapple pulp and basil chunks in your sorbet, that is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Very refreshing! The pineapple I used was too ripe to need even a 1/4 C sugar; it even rendered enough juice on its own, so I didn't need to supplement with additional liquid. Because I'm growing several types of basil this year, I thought the peppery anise flavor of Thai basil would work especially well with these sweet pineapple pops -- and the sweet/savory pairing did not disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is weird and wonderful!!! I served it at an outdoor picnic, and it was well received. I might have gotten a little heavy with the basil, but it's one of my favorite flavors. I did strain the mixture after I pureed it, and certainly agree with the recommendation to do so. Don't be timid! Give this one a try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I mixed it up a bit and used a handful (maybe 1/4 cup) of cilantro instead of the basil and added a bit of vodka so it would be less chunky. yumm yumm. thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I was skeptical, but it's an AMAZINGLY TASTY combo! I had an extra mango in the fridge so I threw that in as well, and I actually left out the sugar per others' recommendations. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Okay...let me start off by saying I did not make this...a good friend did, but since I use this site and put a lot of stock in the reviews...I thought I'd review it. YUM!!!! I'm not vegan, I'm not generally a huge fan of basil or pineapple, but we had a dinner party last night and there were a couple of vegans, so my friend made this and the pineapple/orange sorbet recipe from Allrecipes and this one was the favorite. The other was good, but the pineapple/basil just was SO fresh and delicious that it was the preferred. The basil and pineapple compliment each other very nicely. I have added this to my MacGourmet (love it) Recipe program and will be making it soon. If you're on the fence about giving this one a shot, I can highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Pineapple Crisp

A super-simple fruit crisp gets the tropical treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States