Pineapple and Apricot Skillet Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I rated this 3 stars, though my spouse said 4. I used Captain Morgan spiced rum though could not taste any of the rum flavor in the dish. I wouldn't use the word "bland", but agree that the dish needs a little something else. I think my orange zest came through more bitter than typical, which may be why I didn't like it as much. If we make this again, I will certainly use a very fresh orange (or orange juice?) and check these reviews again to see how others have altered the recipe. Oh, and the bell pepper I had was on the larger side, so I felt that one was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This just didn't have the right consistancy for me, even thought the fire was cool, I took 2 bites and didn't eat the rest. It needs to be sweeter next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darcheartselton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton City, Washington, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
We thought this was good, but it could use a little something else. It could use something crunchy to add a little texture. It was good enough to inspire us to try it again, with a few changes. It reminded us of the food we had in Costa Rica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I really enjoyed this- I used chicken tenders because they were on sale, and I think it helped with cooking time anyway. Also, my grocery store did not have any fresh apricots, so I took some dried and plumped them up in about 1/2 c of chicken broth and used that in the recipe. It was great over rice- my husband was skeptical of the consistency but he gobbled it up. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Overall, I didn't like this recipe. I thought the sauce was the consistency of baby food which turned me off from the beginning. Texture aside, the flavor was OK, maybe a little too sweet for dinner. I'd leave out the sugar; there's plenty of sweetness in the fruit. I also added some garlic powder. I did cut up the chicken first, then removed it from the pan while I added everything else and brought it up to a simmer, then added it back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lylastarr2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
i used boneless skinless chicken thighs! this will be made a lot in our home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Galway, New York, USA
Living In: Bokeelia, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I served this over plain white rice. My 2 year old son loved it. On the menu again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This recipe was pretty good. Light and refreshing. But it was pretty bland. Needs some more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
Great way to use up ripe apricots! I didn’t have chicken breasts so I used thighs. The cooking time was significantly increased. If you are going to use thighs or legs I would recommend grilling the chicken first. Also I didn’t use rum but the sauce tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I thought this recipe was excellent. My husband and I was a little nervous when we started and lit the rum but it was exciting and the chicken was great. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States