Pineapple Upside-down Cake Martinis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Yummy! Inspired by my mini pineapple upside-down cakes, I had to try these. I usually invent martinis on "the fly," so I just used this recipe as a guide. I mixed up 2 drinks in my shaker by combining 3 shots of pineapple juice, 2 shots vanilla vodka, and 1/2 shot amaretto. I used the amaretto instead of the grenadine. I also ran out of vanilla vodka (I was about 1 1/2 shots short), so I used plain vodka and about 1/4 tsp. Mexican vanilla extract. Wow! Tastes exactly like the cake! I put 2 cherries in the bottom of the martini glass and some pineapple on the rim. I will be making this again! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
HOOCHIE MAMMA! These little drinky-poos will have you licking your lips while watching the room spin in no time flat. Delish but potent! I couldn't find pineapple juice (I live in the boonies) so used pineapple cocktail juice instead (pineapple, passion, mango)...also didn't have vanilla vodka so just added a couple drops of Watkins vanilla and as another review suggested, 1/4 cup of amaretto. Wow! My girlfriend and I took one sip and knew we were in for trouble! Our hubbies found them too sweet - so this is definitely one for the gals. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T L Dixon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
WAS THE BEST MARTINI WE SERVED at our annual holiday martini party this year. HUGE HIT! Tasted fabulous, I did the amaretto version. 2/3 cup pineapple juice 1/3 cup vanilla flavored vodka (Stoli's) dash of grenadine 1/4 cup or so of amaretto an orange for garnish and we were set. Tasted so delicious..we ran out and started using pineapple/orange juice mix everyone loved it. And we had some good ones this year. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanezgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Very, very good. I added a touch of amaretto and it was just like a pineapple upside down cake. I'd make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I have tried this recipe twice and just don't like it, and btw when you add oj to it you make a sex on the beach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Paulley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lebanon Junction, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
A very, very good drink, but only if you make it right. First off, it MUST have Amaretto to make it taste like a real pineapple upside down cake. Usually a heavy splash or so. Second, use very good vanilla vodka. I've tried it with cheap vodka, and you can't taste the vanilla, which really makes or breaks this drink. You might be able to get away with regular vodka and a light splash of vanilla extract, but I really suggest the vanilla vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakeKelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
We really liked this! It tasted just like upside down cake. We added this to our summer drink menu! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Great HIT at parties * with one note: Stir BEFORE adding grenadine, then drop in at the last minute to make it really 'look' like Pineapplie Upside-down cake in a Martini glass. Very cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Loveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
These were way too sweet! I made them exactly as the recipe calls for. I might try them again but I'll use regular vodka instead of vanilla vodka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States