Pineapple Upside-down Cake Martinis Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Spunky Buddy
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Not only did this not taste anything remotely resembling pineapple upside down cake, it didn't taste much like pineapple at all; its flavor almost totally obliterated by the grenadine. I made this for my wife who said this would have been infinitely better had I omitted the grenadine completely and added a splash of simple syrup. I have to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spunky Buddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I didn't care for this at all. Will not make again. Won't waste good alcohol on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
As a another reviewer suggested (the bartender) I added a splash of Amaretto, only because I had some handy. It's sweet and yummy...and yes, liquid cake! My husband is a new martini drinker, and he says it's "interesting". But he hasn't given it to me, so that tells me the sweetness is not over the top. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I had one a pineapple upside down cake martini last weekend at a local restaurant --- it was delicious! Unfortunately, I couldn't find the bartender that made it :( I tried this recipe. It was delicious but did NOT taste like the cake martini of last weekend. How much amaretto is used? Anybody ever heard of trying this made with either fluff vodka or whipped cream vodka? I think that may be what was used..... I'm still on my quest. Again, this was a great recipe -- just didn't taste like the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerri Buiting

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I have made this many times, and although I love cherry flavor, if you shake it with the grenadine, it totally takes over the drink. My fiance has a neat way (and some bartenders have done it too) of pouring the grenadine in and it will float at the bottom. that way you can kind of stir it in gradually so you dont miss out on the great pineapple and vanilla flavors! this also keeps the sweetness down! YUM YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
yummy. Made them with regular vodka and they were good but had a little more bite. Liked the vanilla ones better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Love this drink recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used cake flavored vodka. It's a very sweet drink so you can only have one. Like having dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These are even better with cake vodka! Awesome go to girly drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I searched for this because I have this drink at a great beachfront restaurant in Long Branch, NJ. They use amaretto. It IS a sweet drink, but I love it. I agree with adding the grenadine last for the effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States