Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
love these lil guys! its def more effort to do so many individual cakes but as far as presentation they're well worth it, make a cute idea for partys!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I actually made these the other day my kids said it tatses better when i make a homemade batter than with the duncan pineapple supreme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bri
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Loved these! Of course baking from scratch is always nice, but this is a great way to make a yummy finger food snack without the extra work. To me adding the pineapple juice to the Duncan Hines cake mix gave it a real extra flavor boost (thanks for the tip!) I don't understand people who rate recipes down for using a mix aid, IF YOU DON'T LIKE MIX THEN DON'T MAKE THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I am a scatch baker as well, but we all need a short cut now and then. Made these for Easter today, along with a turkey, ham, ETC. Made 3 desserts and this one came out of the oven just in time to be served warm! Can you say Yummy!!! And pretty :) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christineservando

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Oh these came out wonderfully. I used my larger muffin pans to make single serving cakes so there was more pineapple at the top of the cakes. I would recommend this recipe to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I've been making this basic recipe for years with a couple differences: I used a yellow cake mix with the juice from the pineapple in place of the water (add water to the juice if necessary). I've used pineapple tidbits and rings cut up to fit instead of the crushed pineapple. Crushed pineapple can sometimes make the cake under it too mushy sometimes. Instead of putting the batter directly into the muffin pan, I used paper liners which is so much easier for lunches and serving at picnics. It's a surprise when they take the paper off to eat it! It's basically sweet enough for me to eat like this but occasionaly I've dusted powdered sugar on top of the cupcakes after slightly cooled. Oh, and if you're a coconut lover, add a little to the brown sugar before laying in the pineapple and cherries. This is a great recipe anyway you make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I used fresh cherry halves, pineapple canned in light syrup, and lemon cake mix to which I added a lemons worth of lemon zest and the same of juice along with the pineapple water - from the can. Used apple sauce in place of oil and only two eggs (that is all I had). I used about half a teaspoon of brown sugar AND of agave syrup on each of my cupcakes. They were pretty and deliciously moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shelleycat89
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was very easy and very moist and delicious.We don't like the cherries, so I did not use those and I used about 1 1/2 tsp of butter in each dish and a heaping Tbsp of Dark Brown Sugar in each. I also used Pineapple Tidbits instead of crushed pineapple. I only had just over 1 cup of pineapple juice, so I added 1/3 cup of water. Definitely a must make if you like Pineapple Upside Down Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
My party starts in an hour. Made a practice batch last weekend and I ate them all... so I am not worried :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
OMG these are the B E S T upside down cupcakes ever. Not only are they moist but the flavor from using pineapple juice even makes them more. I also added some cherry juice in the second batch for a little variety. Thank you for this great recipe that will be enjoyed for generations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States