Pineapple Upside Down Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Turned out delicious and moist!!! Followed the recipe with the first batch (only had a 6 muffin pan) and I put too much batter in it. With the next batch I only filled them up just a bit over half way and they came out perfect. I would recommend that you let them sit for a couple hours before you eat them. I ate one as soon as it cooled off enough and was disappointed because I didn't really like them. My boyfriend came in after his shift and ate one and was absolutely raving about them. I thought he was just being a nice supportive boyfriend but after I tried another one it changed my mind. Don't ask me why but they tasted a million times better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Loved this recipe. Made it for my 9 y/0 niece and my 5 y/o daughter. They both love helping in the kitchen and this recipe was fun for them to help make. The cupcakes came out super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VictoriaSe49896
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I made these this morning and they turned out great. Some people were saying to use pineapple tidbits so to see which would be better I made half with crushed and half with tidbits. The crushed looked and tasted better by leaps and bounds. Otherwise I made them per the recipe with no alterations of substitutions, which is not like me. Here is my advice - Use parchment paper not wax, they stick worse to wax. Move them to a cool place in the kitchen both before and after inverting them, they easily get "sticky" on the bottom (cake side). I found that 20 minutes was not enough so I went about 24 to get them done. I also found it was a pain trying to push down the pineapple while keeping the cherry in the middle and covering the bottom completely. Put the pineapple down and then push the cherry through and down to the bottom to make this a ton easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very good. I've been using this recipe for several years. Got the original recipe from the Betty Crocker site. The only thing I do different is I use Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I liked it, but I had my doubts the whole time because the picture is clearly not the same as the recipe (hint hint: the recipe says crushed pineapple whereas the picture has diced). However, I tried it anyway. I have 17 (not 24) cupcakes (and a lot of extra batter as I ran out of pineapples, butter, and cherries when I used the exact measurements listed above), and my cupcakes look like absolute . They're goopy, sticky, brown sugary globs of how-am-I-going-to-serve-this. And they are delicious... a trick for getting them out of the muffin tins: Place the waxed paper on top of the muffin tin, then put a cooling rack upside down on top of the waxed paper. Hold on tight and flip! I had a sticky, sugar-hardened pan, and after I loosened my cupcakes with my trusty plastic butter knife, they all slid right out. If they weren't so messy and they didn't look so bad, I would give this all five stars! Definitely worth another try to see if I can make them look as good as they taste (and smell)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I made these as my son's 7th birthday school treat, per his request for pineapple upside down cake for school. I will have to take his and his teacher's word for it that they were good, since there were none left for me to try one! She said that they were so moist and full of flavor. I did add a bit of the cherry juice to the mix as well as using pineapple rings, cut in pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Just made theses and LOVE them. I used pineapple chunks and cut them in half. Was the perfect amount. Cake came out fluffy and was just the right size for one portion. I will definately make these again without a second thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Love this recipe for class parties!! Everyone loves them and NEVER wants to stop at just one! I like using pineapple chunks to give a flower look to the tops when doing parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very good! I made these for Christmas. I usually do a 13 x 9 pineapple upside down cake, but I thought these would be good for people to grab and put on a plate with other desserts. They were a hit. I will definitely make again. They were like cupcakes, so no cutting or forks needed. Most people just added them to the plate and ate with fingers like a cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States