Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I made this cake for my Mom's birthday because she's a huge fan of Pineapple Upside-Down Cakes. I was skeptical because every time I work with any type of butter/brown sugar to caramel mixture, it fails. I decided to half this recipe and use one 9" round pan, Duncan Hines Yellow Cake Mix, pineapple tidbits as well as the pineapple juice instead of water for the cake batter. I had leftover batter so I threw some coconut in and made Pina Colada cupcakes which were fabulous. The cake turned out PERFECT and my Mom LOVED this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This cake is delicious. First, I used other reviewers suggestions, and made the cake in a 13x9 inch pan. I used yellow cake mix, and instead of water, added pineapple juice. I had to add just a tiny bit of water, then added veg oil, and eggs as directed. This cake is moist, and the taste of pineapple, cherries, and brown sugar add to the flavor.This recipe will be our dessert for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Omg, this cake was so delicious,.moist and good! Everyone LOVED IT. Even my boyfriend that doesn't have a sweet tooth kept asking for more! We ate pretty much half of the cake between 4 people. So what i did was used yellow cake mix, used pineapple juice instead of water to prepare cake batter and a splash of OJ and 1/2c of oil. Everything else i did the same. Oh and i don't own a cast iron skillet so i used a 9x13 pan. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
First time I ever made pineapple upside down cake. It was easy & a big hit at the baby shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I don,t use store bought cake mixes,I make my own dry cake mix and the difference is outstanding with fresh pineapple,I,m not a big cake eater but I could change my mind with this wonderful recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I made this the night before in a 9x13 pan. I followed the recipe exactly and made sure to flip it upside down into another 9x13 pan after 10 minutes. It did not stick to the pan and was the "right" side up when I brought it to the party. It was super good when microwaved 15 seconds and served with cool whip or vanilla ice cream. If I make it again and don't care about the presentation I think I will make it with pineapple tidbits so it is easier to cut smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bozena
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I try this recipes first how direction,but was not so good.Next time I make some change.First I spread soft butter in the pan13x9,next sprinkle brown sugar and rest how recipes.This time was so good and much easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bozena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Very easy and nice tasting recipe. I think I would have liked it better if it didn't use a boxed cake mix. Although that made the cake easier and quicker to make, I didn't love the flavor if the cake mix and that's why I gave this 4 rather than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I loved this. So much easier then making the cake part from scratch. I also used a 9X13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byers, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was excellent but only gave it a 4 because I thought there was a bit much brown sugar. I used 1 1/2 cups firmly packed, but maybe the recipe didn't mean for it to be firmly packed since it does not say that. So maybe I used too much! Next time I'm cutting back a bit and I bet we will be able to give it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 526) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States