Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by DocChef
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I only used 1 cup of brown sugar (instead of 1.5 cups), and the cake turned out beautiful and tasty. The cake wasn't as moist as I would have imagined it (since there is a layer of butter at the bottom), but the butter made it easy to come out of the pan (I used a 11inch stainless steel flat bottom pan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tennessee Boy
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Great recipe. I used a French Vanilla cakemix and mixed by hand, liquid and semi-liquid ingredients first, then added to cake mix. Whisking and some labor seem to make things taste better. Used a cast iron skillet and also used pineapple chunks instead of rings, because that's what we had. However, I've never liked cutting the rings when I eat PUDC, so this work better on multiple levels. This is a high impact, low effort dessert, so I strongly recommend you make it a showcase part of the evening. Make it after the meal while everyone is chatting and sipping, then put a cake plate on the table, shake the cake in the skillet to loosen it a bit, then flop it out in front of everyone. If you get the results I did, there will be ooohing and ahhhing and then the smell of warm cake will waft up. Everyone hands down thought this was quite an event, and gobbled the cake while saying it was one of the best things they had ever eaten. I had chunks and cherries all across the golden sugary bottom of the cake, and hope I can post a picture somehow, as it looked very beautiful. You will have your cake and eat it too...until it's gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tennessee Boy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was an awesome cake! I used a yellow cake mix. For the 1 cup water called for I used 1/2 cup juice from the pineapple and 1/2 cup coconut rum. I baked it in my 12" Pampered Chef skillet. I used one can of pineapple ring and then filled in all the empty area with crushed pineapple so there was pineapple in every bite! It was totally AMAZING! Moist, the topping had a little crunch to it. Everyone loved it! Will make again and again! Next time I'm going to try using fresh pineapple and will soak it for a bit in the coconut rum and then use the juice and rum for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Waaaa! What did I do wrong? I thoroughly drained the pineapple and assembled as instructed After 30 mins. the cake appeared done (toothpick came out clean) and I let rest 10 mins. When I flipped it over, the cake was only baked around the edges....the middle was raw batter near the bottom of the pan--even though the tester came out clean?! *****FOLLOW-UP**** I flipped the cake back into the pan, returned to the oven for another 10-12 mins and it actually turned out great, all things considered. My son was helping me, and he had added more pineapple to the pan (we used crushed) without draining it. The added moisture caused the cake to need extra baking time. Even though it started as a flop, it is already half eaten. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Always a hit with my husband! Make sure to put the pineapple juice in the cake mix and use as much butter as it specifies even if it seems like a lot, otherwise the cake will stick to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This was a yummy cake and gorgeous too! I made it exactly as printed in my 12-inch cast iron skillet. The 20 oz can of pineapple rings gave me exactly 1 cup of juice which is what my cake mix called for. I did have to cook it 10 minutes longer than the mix said. Popped out of the skillet beautifully after cooling 10 minutes - thank goodness, I was taking it to a birthday party immediately! Everyone raved. Thank you Anne for a quick, easy, yet great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
12/12 don't have cast iron skillet so i used 9x13. melted butter on stove and mixed in brown sugar, a little less than 1.5 cups. spread in bottom of pan, arranged pineapple slices and cherries on top, then poured in batter (replace water in mix w/juice from can). when done inverted onto cookie sheet, then when cooled carefully transfer back to pan. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Perfect as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I always like to follow recipe ingredients to a T, so I can form a more accurate opinion, and when I followed this recipe, it was 'good' but disgustingly drenched in butter and entirely too sweet. Now that I had the "original" out of the way, I tweaked things accordingly by halving the butter to 1/4C and decreased brown sugar to a very loose 1/2C..had friends be guinea pigs and they all said it was good and tastes right, not too buttery or too sweet and have commented on its moistness. Also, I've used yellow cake mix instead of white. I only looked for this recipe bc the bf said it's his fav; him mentioning it is the first I've ever heard and I think it's ok. I think it's good but not really something I would crave myself. Perhaps I will re-review in the future by actually using white cake mix for my version of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Perfect and easy recipe! I use it every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Janel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States