Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Easy and delicious. In addition to the pineapple rings, I fill the gaps between the rings with canned crushed pineapple. This gives enough leftover pineapple juice to substitute all water for juice. If you can get a pineapple cake mix instead of white cake, even better. This is a regular in my circle of friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Great simple recipe. Nice, but VERY sweet. The first time, I took the sugar down to a single cup, and parts of the side of the cake were still pure sugar. Second time I reduced to about 1/3 cup butter and 3/4 cup of sugar, and it's still plenty sweet. Looks nice in a 9x13 but better in the skillet - really nice to take to a potluck or event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I did not have an iron skillet, melted the butter in a 9x13 glass cake pan,sprinkled brown sugar over the butter, added the pineapple slices and cherries, added the cake batter (prepared according to manufacture directions). Once it was done, I turned it over onto a cookie sheet, it came out beautifully & everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Really easy, followed the recipe exactly. My husband, who hates sweets but loves pineapple upside down cake, ate most of it in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamSBD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was the best pineapple upside down cake I've ever had and the family agreed. I didn't change a single thing & cooking it in the cast iron was the key in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was a fantastic recipe! The cast iron skillet makes an amazing finish, and my edges were slightly crispy - so good. I did add cinnamon to the sugar as suggested by another reviewer. In the future I think I will saute the pineapples initially, and then follow through with this recipe. I'm also wondering about fried banana upside down cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Kucel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Fiance and Soon-To-Be Father in Law told me how much they LOVE pineapple Upside-Down Cake, but that they both are "very weird about it and are hard to please because most people simply don't make it right" . . . Made this recipe for them and it has been such a hit!! At least once a month or so, one of them are begging me to make it to the point that I keep the ingredients for it in the cabinet at all times!! The only change that I have made to it is including a half of a can or so of crushed pineapple to the mix and substituting the water for pineapple juice from the canned pineapple (as others have suggested). I was nervous to make the changes because I did not want it to become "too pineappley" but it turned out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delaware City, Delaware, USA
Living In: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I added 1/4 buttermilk, pineapple juice and sour cream. I used a rectangular baking dish which wasn't enough batter so next attempt I'm going to double up on the batter for more cake. I also dont cut my cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very good cake! I loved cooking it in the cast iron skillet (although after 30 minutes, it was only half cooked: so I covered it with tin foil and cooked it another 20 minutes) It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a hit at our house! Made a couple changes, just cause the white cake didn't sound good to me. I used a pineapple cake mix and added 1 small pkg of vanilla instant pudding. I used a deep cast iron skillet and did have to cook it a little longer.. used a butter knife in the center till it came out clean. Very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States