Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I loved this. So much easier then making the cake part from scratch. I also used a 9X13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byers, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was excellent but only gave it a 4 because I thought there was a bit much brown sugar. I used 1 1/2 cups firmly packed, but maybe the recipe didn't mean for it to be firmly packed since it does not say that. So maybe I used too much! Next time I'm cutting back a bit and I bet we will be able to give it a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Loved it! Absolutely the best recipe I've found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
One more suggestion to clarify this recipe. The baking instructions on the cake mix really don't work for this because you are putting a whole cake mix in a 9-inch skillet. I found it worked to bake at 350 for 35 minutes, then lower the temperature to 325 for ten minutes. With that adjustment, I had a very good result. Without lowering the temp, the outside would have over-baked before the center was done. Served this to guests with vanilla ice cream last night and it was delicious and beautiful. For those that had overflow from a 9-inch skillet, I think it's worth pointing out that the height of the sides/walls of skillets also vary. Mine was about 2-1/4 inches. Hope others find this information to be helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This cake is amazing- I made it in a 9 x 13 glass pan. Since I used a fresh pineapple there was no juice so I subbed out some water in the cake mix with juice from a freshly squeezed lemon. I used sweet butter so I added some salt on top of the pineapple and butter. I used yellow cake but I could see it working with whatever. Gross stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very easy! Love it. I did take the advice of others and I also use the juice from the pineapples. Only as an option, I accidentally used yellow cake mix instead of white one time and actually like it a little better :). The white cake mix is good too. Very versatile recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Delicious!! This cake is wonderful. I didn't know what size cast iron skillet to use, so I used 9X13 pan. I didn't attempt to turn it out of the pan since I didn't have a tray or plate big enough to hold the entire cake. So we just cut pieces while still in the pan. Not pretty, but very good. I had to make myself stop eating it. I used a white cake mix, but substituted pineapple juice for the water. I also added 1t almond extract and cut back a little on the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Easy and delicious. In addition to the pineapple rings, I fill the gaps between the rings with canned crushed pineapple. This gives enough leftover pineapple juice to substitute all water for juice. If you can get a pineapple cake mix instead of white cake, even better. This is a regular in my circle of friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Great simple recipe. Nice, but VERY sweet. The first time, I took the sugar down to a single cup, and parts of the side of the cake were still pure sugar. Second time I reduced to about 1/3 cup butter and 3/4 cup of sugar, and it's still plenty sweet. Looks nice in a 9x13 but better in the skillet - really nice to take to a potluck or event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I did not have an iron skillet, melted the butter in a 9x13 glass cake pan,sprinkled brown sugar over the butter, added the pineapple slices and cherries, added the cake batter (prepared according to manufacture directions). Once it was done, I turned it over onto a cookie sheet, it came out beautifully & everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States