Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Hmm... I had high hopes for this cake and was disappointed! The only changes I made were subbing the juice for water for the cake batter and used a 9 by 13 inch dish. This was a soggy mess (I called it mud) and the only way my hubby enjoyed it was under ice cream. It really did turn out more like a topping than a cake. I'm a rather competent cook so I hesitate to say it was me.. Though with all the great reviews maybe it was? I have to try this again as my daughter wants a pineapple upside down cake for her birthday. I will update the review if I did in fact go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I thought this would be difficult to make in a cast iron skillet. It was not and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I didn't have white cake mix but I did have Pineapple Supreme. I used the pineapple juice for my liquid and had to add a little water to meet the instructions on the box of cake mix. Everything fit nicely in my grandmother's old 13 inch iron skillet. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My husband really likes pineapple upside down cake but he loves this version. The cast iron skillet makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I didn't have a iron skillet so I used a 9x13 pan. The cake was delicious but turned into a soggy mess by the second day. I'm not sure if using the skillet would have dried the cake out more so that it lasted longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Everybody loved it, I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
The best pineapple upside down cake ever! My entire family family devoured it... It's best with yellow cake mix. I've tried both ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I added pineapple juice to replace some of the water. Also box of instant pudding and extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe. I used the pineapple supreme mix and the juice from a 20oz can of crushed pineapple. I baked mine in a cast iron chicken fryer which is a 10 1/4" 3" deep skillet. This would nee a 12" skillet if you're using the standard depth. We like to use crushed when we are baking these for ourselves, more pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This was DELICIOUS! Very moist and fluffy cake. Used butterly golden cake mix with the pineapple juice. OMG!!! It was like heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States