Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter with one important difference--instead of pineapples, I used PEACHES. The cake turned out light, airy, not overly sweet and was the perfect way to end my Christmas dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was excellent but I made some changes. I had a white cake mix to use up & worried based on others' reviews since so many changed to yellow cake mix; that fear was unfounded because it turned out great with white cake mix. I exchanged ALL the water in the cake for pineapple juice/syrup from one can of pineapple slices and one can of crushed pineapple (which I pressed thru a strainer to get the juice from). I also added two tablespoons melted butter to the cake batter. The baking time took about ten minutes longer. I increased the butter in the bottom of the pan to one full stick and was generous with my brown sugar measurements too. After all -- it's the bottom layer (that becomes the top part) that everyone loves most. More IS more in that case -- I would have been disappointed if I had used less. I also added about three tablespoons of pineapple juice to the butter and brown sugar mixture in the bottom of the pan. This turned out wonderfully in a 9 x 13 pan with pineapple rings and cherries in the middle. I cannot imagine or even advise trying this in a skillet. WHY? It will go further, cook faster, fit better and look nicer in a 9 x 13. Thanks for the recipe. It'll make for a great dessert tonight when my mom comes for dinner (I had a piece early for quality control purposes only). ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Absolutely perfect! Typically I do not alter recipes before making as originally written but, I did this time. I used the pineapple juice for the liquid in the cake mix and added in a touch (1/4c or maybe a little less) of Captain Morgan's spiced rum. I increased the butter to 1 1/2 c. This was amazingly delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
My family loves this recipe. We added Amaretto to it and it's so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great recipe! First time I attempted a pineapple upside down cake and we loved it! I am not a great baker, many failed dense baked goods in the past. I love that it used a box mix (I actually used Pillsbury white funfetti if you can believe it and it was still awesome!) and I did add a touch of coconut extract, just less than 1 teaspoon and it was delicious. I used all of the reserved juice which was just less than 1 cup so I had to add just a touch of water for the mix. I was worried it would be too pineappley and sweet, but it was great. I don't have cast iron, I just used my largest oven safe skillet, no sticking at all. I did cook it almost 45 minutes, used the toothpick test. Great presentation out of the pan with the dome shape and I flipped it out onto a large platter no problem. The brown sugar kind of carmelized at the bottom edge and was my favorite part, make sure to draw the butter up the sides of the pan and then put the sugar there too. When I make it next time I'll decrease the butter and probably the brown sugar too, it was almost mushy there was so much so I'm sure we won't miss those calories. Perhaps if you used a 13x9 pan you would need more to create a nice thick layer though since you have more surface area on the bottom. Definitely keeping this recipe and at least I know I can do this cake right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
WARNING! Do NOT use a iron skillet less than 10 inches!!! I had a kitchen disaster when I used an 8 inch skillet. You may say..well...use common sense, but in cas anyone else may only have a smaller skillet beware! I managed to slavage about 1/3 of the cake and after scouping out the pure soup center and finish the outer circle in my toaster oven (on conv. baking for 10 min.(, the remaining cake was very delicious. Next time I will use my larger iron skillet because the taste was quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is fantastic and really easy! I made half this recipe, using a P'bury sugar free yellow cake mix, using a round cake pan instead of a skillet. Since the boxed mix called for 3 eggs for the whole box, I used 2 for half the box and it turned out just right. This is a new favorite recipe and one I'll be happy to make and serve again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Croton Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
A nice, simple recipe. I made this for my host family because the father loves pineapple upside down cake. This was my first time ever eating it and although they declared it was amazing, I thought it was okay. Maybe I am just not a pineapple upside down kinda person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silenceinwinter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Excellent!! I made this in a 9 x 13 pan and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 565) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States