Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by k.brewster94
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Could have stayed inthe oven a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I made this twice recently and it was delicious. People also love the way it looked. Several people told me it was gorgeous and it should be a picture in a magazine. The presentation is awesome. This will be a classic go to dessert for my files. Little effort but big pay off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Very good and super easy! I halved the recipe and used a remekin. I should've used the pineapple juice and/or pineapple cake mix because you can definetly taste a boxed white cake. It's all good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I chose this recipe because it was how my mother made her pineapple upside down cake when I was a young girl. The recipe was very easy and it came out picture perfect. The cake tasted wonderful and was very moist. I was glad I found this recipe and hope more viewers will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
If I could I would give this 10 stars! I used a 9 x 13 pan , used the juice from the pineapple in place of water. I also used rings and crushed pineapple. I put the crushed between the rings and down the middle of the cake. i had some crushed pineapple left and just stirred it into the batter . baking time was alittle longer about 7 min. just kept checking until done AWSOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
yummm!!! I Love, Love, Love this Recipe! I do buy the "pineapple" cake mix in the box, add the pineapple juice, instead of water, and use pineapple chunks, so that every bite of cake has some pineapple with it! Everyone that I make this cake for loves it, and always asks for seconds! Thanks for this recipe, it is a keeper! :) Happy Baking everyone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dexter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, and it was wonderful. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by birdinsun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
way to sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter with one important difference--instead of pineapples, I used PEACHES. The cake turned out light, airy, not overly sweet and was the perfect way to end my Christmas dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was excellent but I made some changes. I had a white cake mix to use up & worried based on others' reviews since so many changed to yellow cake mix; that fear was unfounded because it turned out great with white cake mix. I exchanged ALL the water in the cake for pineapple juice/syrup from one can of pineapple slices and one can of crushed pineapple (which I pressed thru a strainer to get the juice from). I also added two tablespoons melted butter to the cake batter. The baking time took about ten minutes longer. I increased the butter in the bottom of the pan to one full stick and was generous with my brown sugar measurements too. After all -- it's the bottom layer (that becomes the top part) that everyone loves most. More IS more in that case -- I would have been disappointed if I had used less. I also added about three tablespoons of pineapple juice to the butter and brown sugar mixture in the bottom of the pan. This turned out wonderfully in a 9 x 13 pan with pineapple rings and cherries in the middle. I cannot imagine or even advise trying this in a skillet. WHY? It will go further, cook faster, fit better and look nicer in a 9 x 13. Thanks for the recipe. It'll make for a great dessert tonight when my mom comes for dinner (I had a piece early for quality control purposes only). ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States