Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very tasty! I made in a bundt pan as I did not have a cast iron skillet large enough. I used all the pineapple juice for the water. I did have to add a little water for it to equal the amount called for on the cake directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hayley D.
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Best PUDC ever! I made it with pineapple chunks and it was beautiful and so delicious. Will make in cupcake pan next time to get more of that crunchy sweet crust. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jujay
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This was a great recipe! I never thought of using the pineapple juice in the cake mix, so that was a new idea. I made mine in a 13x9 pan and used a butter cake, rather than a white cake. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jujay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Absolutely amazing! My families favorite cake now so thank you for putting this recipe on here??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was just ok. Followed as written, used Betty Crocker yellow cake mix. Took about 40 min to cook through in my "hot" running oven. It was just ok. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
My little daughter especially loved it, so into teh recipe box it has to go. I wasn't enthusiastic about this recipe; I agree with others that the butter and sugar paste is definitely too much and makes for an unhealthy cake (I decided to cut on the sugar as the pineapple was not fresh but canned and they put enough sugar to make the syruo as it is). The result was beautiful due to the pineapple rings and candied cherry that come up on top after i's baked, but I had the problem of the sogginess and also of the sugar/butter/pineapple juice boiling over and overflowing while baking. All in all it's good, but it is made of good things (I mean, butetr, sugar, pineapple...): how could it not be? so, less sugar and less butter, and definitely no fat of any kind into the batter could be the answer for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Great recipe! But make sure you save the juice from the pineapples, pour it into a measuring cup, then add enough water to equal the amount of liquid your cake mix calls for. Also, if you use a pineapple flavored cake mix in place of white or vanilla you will really kick this up a notch flavor-wise! I don't have a cast iron skillet, so I just make this in a 9X13 pan. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This is how I make my pineapple upside down cakes. Love my cast iron skillet! I always fill the little gaps between pineapple with chopped walnuts. Just sprinkle them around the outside too before baking. Mixed with the brown sugar they make this cake even more tempting and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckellymi
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
We used a 10" skillet and yellow cake mix. worked perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckellymi

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karla
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Very easy and good cake, however I did make a few changes. I had a fresh pineapple that I wanted to use, only used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of the 1 1/2 cups and that seemed plenty. Also did not use my cast iron skillet, but 9 x 13 glass pan, no way my skillet would have been able to hold the amount. Since it's close to Christmas, I added a few spices, cinnamon, cardamom, and ground ginger, a few shakes of each. That enhanced the flavor of the yellow cake mix. Came out pretty and no problem turning out onto a jelly roll pan, covered with waxed paper. Was enjoyed by my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States