Pineapple Upside-Down Cake VII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I used the white Cake mix for next time I think I'll use the yellow like Everyone suggested. I also used the Crushed pineapple And overall it turned out great. It was my first time making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Hmm... I had high hopes for this cake and was disappointed! The only changes I made were subbing the juice for water for the cake batter and used a 9 by 13 inch dish. This was a soggy mess (I called it mud) and the only way my hubby enjoyed it was under ice cream. It really did turn out more like a topping than a cake. I'm a rather competent cook so I hesitate to say it was me.. Though with all the great reviews maybe it was? I have to try this again as my daughter wants a pineapple upside down cake for her birthday. I will update the review if I did in fact go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I thought this would be difficult to make in a cast iron skillet. It was not and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I didn't have white cake mix but I did have Pineapple Supreme. I used the pineapple juice for my liquid and had to add a little water to meet the instructions on the box of cake mix. Everything fit nicely in my grandmother's old 13 inch iron skillet. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TashiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My husband really likes pineapple upside down cake but he loves this version. The cast iron skillet makes the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Talena
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I didn't have a iron skillet so I used a 9x13 pan. The cake was delicious but turned into a soggy mess by the second day. I'm not sure if using the skillet would have dried the cake out more so that it lasted longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Everybody loved it, I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
The best pineapple upside down cake ever! My entire family family devoured it... It's best with yellow cake mix. I've tried both ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I added pineapple juice to replace some of the water. Also box of instant pudding and extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Excellent recipe. I used the pineapple supreme mix and the juice from a 20oz can of crushed pineapple. I baked mine in a cast iron chicken fryer which is a 10 1/4" 3" deep skillet. This would nee a 12" skillet if you're using the standard depth. We like to use crushed when we are baking these for ourselves, more pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 545) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States