Pineapple Upside-Down Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I doubled the recipe and added more butter and brown sugar. It was good but I think I will replace the pineapple juice for sour cream next time and the cake flour for all purpose flour. It was too tart and too crumbly. I will also poke holes in it as it cools so the juices can get inside. I will re-use this recipe as a base though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
My family really enjoyed this. I used unsweetened pineapple which was a mistake because it was a little sour. The person who reviewed the recipe on May 20th must have baked the cake too long. Mine was very moist! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great recipe. Would be a 5 if it were a little more moist. Next time I will add more pineapple juice to the mix. The sugar and butter mix makes this cake..so delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Pineapple Upside Down Cake is my husbands favorite, and this did not disappoint! It came together very easily and baked up perfectly. I will make this again! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Super delicious recipe! I used pineapple chunks instead of crushed pineapples. This will be my go-to recipe anytime I want to make pineapple upside-down cake! Everybody loved the cake....my parents, my aunt and uncle, my sister, and my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
First time, also, I'm not much of a baker. I Did something wrong. I think it was the pan I used. I also think I let it cool to long before flipping the pan. The taste was very good but it looked awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillbilly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Groton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Sooooo good! My mom used to make Pineapple upside down cake all the time when I was a kid and this was just like it! The top was a tiny bit too sweet for me but I went with 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup brown sugar sugartwin and that's sweeter cup for cup than regular sugar so next time I'd probably reduce the topping to 1/2 cup, 50% sugar, 50%sugar twin. Either way the cake was delicious, my boyfriend, who had nver had pineapple upside down cake adored it and ate the whole thing in one night (I got one piece at least, but he had half of it gone before we even ate dinner :P) I followed the recipe exactly (except for the top, sugartwin and no walnuts) and didn't find it dry at all. Great recipe, great cake, I'll be sure to make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by There's Lovin' in the oven ^_^

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
So good and so easy. Followed the recipe and it turned out wonderful. What a nice dessert. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This cake is very flavorful. I didn't have any cake flour so I had to use regular flour. It was a bit denser than I would have liked. Overall, this is a recipe I will make again. The next time, I will use butter/oil in the batter to make it a little moister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States