Pineapple Upside-Down Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Loved this cake but the first time I made it, the cake did not taste as good as the top of the cake did and was dry. So I made it again and added more butter,tbsp more, and sprinkled the brown sugar under the pineapples as the recipe said and also put 2 tbsp more over the pineapples. And added 1/4 more sugar to mix. Added the rest of the pineapple juice like others had suggested, and even mixed in the extra pineapple as well.I love my cakes sweet and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
By far the best Pineapple Upside Down Cake I've ever made (and ate). I used pineapple rings but will use chunks next time to make it easier to cut and serve. I also put coconut with the brown sugar because we are coconut lovers. Fantastic! Three of us ate it in less than 12 hours. I had never used cake flour before and wasn't really crazy about it because it didn't sift very easy and I had a mess. Has anyone else used regular four?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
this turned out FANTASTIC! i made this in a bundt cake pan with the pineapple chunks and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josiebonds
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Made this tonight- just like the recipe called for except I used pineapple rings from a can. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
The cake tasted delicious. However it was a little runny and I'm not sure what I did wrong. I did spray my pan with pam cooking spray and I used pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is a very dry bland cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I was a little disappointed because the cake got stuck in the pan and fell apart in some areas. I don't know where I went wrong because I even sprayed the pan with Pam. Anyhow, everyone loved it and I'll give it a second try. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I loved this recipe!! only thing I used different was used the circled pine apple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I adore scratch recipes and this one "takes the cake"! Had to delete the walnuts as I'm allergic and used the pineapple rings. Used all the juice too as several reviewers suggested. Hubby ate a whole fourth of the cake last night and declared it was the best he'd ever eaten (and he's eaten a lot of cake in his 60 years!!!). Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Pretty straight forward recipe. I followed the directions as written here and had a decent end result. I say decent because I frankly thought the cake was too dry and lacked flavor but my boyfriend LOVED it. All in all, I think it's worth making and tweaking until you get it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States