Pineapple Upside-Down Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Quick and delicious and very pretty! We enjoyed this cake very much! I did not use the walnuts, personal preference. Awesome dessert!! Thanks or sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by John187
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Great! First, I don't use mixes so those other Upside Down Cake recipes are dead to me. Next this recipe is perfect and simple. I substitute unsalted butter for shortening, it reminds me of the cake my mom used to make. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
perfect cake and topping. just wrong ratio. double cake and keep in 9" pan. made as is bake for only 35-40 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I enjoyed this very much as did the family. The shortening in the mix made for a very nice crumb for the cake and the topping was super super yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had a problem getting the cake out of the pan, what a mess! So disappointed but my boyfriend ate the disaster out of a bowl anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Stout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I had some leftover canned pineapple tidbits that I was looking to use up. I used the search by ingredient feature with the ingredients I had on hand, and this was the first thing that popped up. Well, I had almost all the ingredients. I never have shortening on hand, so I used oil. The cake itself was super moist(I followed other reviews, and added extra juice), but a little on the sweet side. It's probably my fault because of the extra juice, I'll have to remember to cut back on the sugar to compensate next time. I also added some pumpkin pie spice to the batter, I use it in all my baked goods and it goes really well with the pineapple. The only problem I had with this recipe is it won't come out of the pan! I ran a knife along the sides of the pan, but it just won't budge. I'm not serving it to company, so it's not that big of a deal. It still tastes great! The topping is just not gooey like I usually make. I think an extra TBS or so of butter will help with the sticking. Will definitely make again though! Thank you so much for the pineapple upside-down cake....errrrr....pineapple downside-up cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I loved this recipe! Super easy to throw together, and wonderful texture and flavor! I used the rings instead of crushed pineapple, because I prefer the look, but I fill in the "gaps" with pieces of pineapple. This will be my go to recipe for Pineapple Upside Down Cake from now on! Thank You for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My husband loved it. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by locklear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This was good and got compliments from everyone at the party I baked it for. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This recipe is great the only change I would do next time I make this is to lower the salt to 1/4 tea instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States