Pineapple Upside-Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as listed except adding 1 tsp of salt. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I thought the flour would be too much (3 cups) but it was fine. Be sure to use all the juice and add enough water to make 1 1/3 cups of liquid as per recipe. However, even after letting cake cool for 30 min. rather than the recipe's 5 (as per other's suggestions), the toppings stuck to bottom of pan. Perhaps i will butter the pan even more heavily next time; don't know why else it would have stuck like that. Tastes good, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
So weird how submitter's names change. Originally, as in 2003, when I first tried this, it was from Nancy. No big deal, I guess. Just need to remember to save all recipes. Ha! Save all recipes, allrecipes?!? ... okay, okay ... :D ... I subbed sliced peaches & 2/3c peach syrup & 2/3c milk for the part where you add water to the pineapple juice to make 1 1/3cups. Also added 1t salt to balance the sugar, which I reduced to 1c in the cake part. This one is better than my Good Housekeeping Illustrated Cookbook one I've been using. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jordyne
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I personally did not like this cake, but my mom loved it. I thought it was a little too soggy, but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordyne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
may family and i thought this cake was great! i will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Followed to a tee. Dry and falls apart. Will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Super easy and delicious. I didn't have any shortening so I substituted 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 of vegetable oil. Worked out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I loved this cake but did make a few changes; I doubled the brown sugar and used one can of crushed and one can of pineapple tidbits for the topping. I omitted the cherries - too sickly sweet for me. I used butter instead of shortening and I also doubled the vanilla. After reading the reviews, I was concerned the cake was going to be too dense but it was just perfect - light and airy with just the right sweetness. What would I do differently next time? I would caramelize the brown sugar prior to mixing with pineapple. I would also like to try this with either coconut or almond extract - both work so well with pineapple. Note: I did not give it a 5 because of the adjustments necessary to the recipe however with the changes made - it was def a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great cake! I was nervous since i hadnt made one in years and tonight it was for my boss! It was a big hit with her and all the guests. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I didn't read these reviews until the cake was in the oven, then turned down the temp to 325, then 300, to try to avoid overcooking and dryness that other reviewers have noted. Cake turned out good, not dry, but definitely too sweet. If I make it again I will cut back the suger significantly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States