Pineapple Upside-Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This is an excellent cake recipe! I doubled the brown suger, pinapple and melted butter, and it turned out fantastic! I also baked it in a large bundt pan, it took about an extra 12 minutes, and it worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was delicious and I served it for a birthday party and everyone raved. I love the crushed pineapple on top rather than the rings. However take my advice and DON'T make it a day in advance. The cake was a bit dry. Next time I will make this the day of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
i have used several of other peoples recipes for pineapple upside down cakes.....because i love to experiment in the kitchen! :) but this one is just way too much....u use too much flour and sugar...not enough eggs....i use 3 eggs. sorry i was not pleased with this recipe at all. i made it exact to the T and it was just overflowing out of the pan :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Good cake but too big for us so it halves successfully. I substitute butter for shortening and the taste is deeper and texture better. This, of course, is to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2000
This was simple to make and absolutely delicious!! Makes a large cake, I half it for smaller occassions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Wonderful taste, and simplicity itself. We couldn't find a bakery that made Pineapple Upsidedown Cake and this recipe was the best one we've tried. If you like too, add double the amount of brown sugar, butter and juice for the topping to really indulge yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I did not like this cake at all..I think it calls for way too much flour because it's very dense, almost like you're eating pudding. (It's definitely not undercooked...just very dense.) Too bad I made it for a luncheon today. :( lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nelson Tamayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Recipe was Great - like my mother's ole time recipe.. All Six of my grandchildren loved it I altered a tad - Doubled brown sugar & butter/sliced pineapple and marchino cheeries and then Cooled for at least 30 minutes before turning out -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
The cake part is fairly bland, I added about 1/8 to 1/4 tsp of almond flavoring. Improved the taste! The Pineapple bottom is yummy. I still prefer the Dunkin Hinze recipe that uses boxed yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Sherlock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This cake is rather time consuming for such a simple recipe. If more flavorful, it would have been worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States