Pineapple Upside-Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This is a super fun cake to make and is super moist and very flavorful! I actually used canned pear halves instead of pineapple and it was a truly delicious treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Makes a very large cake, and tastes like flour! When I flipped the cake the whole topping stuck to the pan, so i had to scrape it off and spread it back on! The only way my family would eat it was with custard or ice cream. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MummyJacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I was disappointed with this cake. I read the reviews and most talked about its great flavor, well I followed the recipe but the cake did not have alot of flavor. The first time I made it with pineapple in it's own juice so I thougth that was the problem. I made it agian with pineapple in heavy syrup, double the brown sugar and butter for the topping and double the vanilla extract. It tasted a little better but was still missing something. Maybe I'll try again and add salt. I really liked the texture of the cake very moist but not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Recipe was Great - like my mother's ole time recipe.. All Six of my grandchildren loved it I altered a tad - Doubled brown sugar & butter/sliced pineapple and marchino cheeries and then Cooled for at least 30 minutes before turning out -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
This was very good. Moist and tasty. The only thing that went wrong was the cake cracked in 3 places when I flipped it out of the baking pan. It was still very good though. Maybe if you let it cool in the pan a little longer it wouldn't do that. Also, I used pineapple slices instead of crushed pineapple and put cherry halves in the middle of the slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
WOW!!! So moist and flavorful! I made it in a Bundt pan rather than 13x9, so it took a little longer to bake, but it was sooooo good! I will definitely be baking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
Complete disaster! While the cake and topping had a good flavor, the whole thing fell apart when I tried to remove it from the pan. I would recommend using a well-seasoned cast iron pan or at the very least, round 9-inch cake pans. Also, consider sliced, not crushed pinapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Wonderful taste, and simplicity itself. We couldn't find a bakery that made Pineapple Upsidedown Cake and this recipe was the best one we've tried. If you like too, add double the amount of brown sugar, butter and juice for the topping to really indulge yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This cake was very, very moist. It was also very easy to make. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I'm excited because, even though I made a few changes, this cake turned out great! My only criticism is that the author put "shortening" and "butter" in the ingrediants and then referred to "margerine" in the instructions; it was confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States