Pineapple Upside-Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
my kids loved this cake warm with custard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Preston, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I made this for a friends birthday as a healthier birthday cake, and everyone loved it, and could have cared less about missing the sugary frosting and icing! I sived a small bit of brown sugar on the bottom of the pan to give it a more "crystally" appearence and added some green and red marichino charries, quartered into the mix to give it a bit more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I also added double sugar and butter I also added some pineapple pieces into the batter to give it some more flavor but don't add to much as the cake will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
This recipe is a no brainer! I'm a that's close enough type of guy. I used about a cup of butter flavored Crisco. Pretty much the same measurment for the rest of the stuff. Came out perfect! It was quick, easy and even tasted great! Will do this one again! It's a keeper folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbiggar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I have to agree with sarahfaye and bethpc.The cake is not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
doubled the butter, pineapple and brown sugar as suggested. Best i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Nahrgang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I did not like this cake at all, the cake part was so thick that I could not even taste the pinapple on the bottom. Maybe if I half the recipe for the cake? My hubby and I both had one piece and threw the rest out, dont think I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was delicious and I served it for a birthday party and everyone raved. I love the crushed pineapple on top rather than the rings. However take my advice and DON'T make it a day in advance. The cake was a bit dry. Next time I will make this the day of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Easy to make! I read the recipe so fast I didn't realize it called for Crushed pineapples, so I ended up using the sliced circles. Worked out VERY well for me. Accidently had the oven rack too high and the top (bottom?LOL) started to burn a little, so I put some foil over it when it had about 15 mins left to cook. Turned out Excellent!! It's a great dessert. My whole family loved it! We will add this to our menu! (It's not a rich and powerful dessert, but it's great tasting, easy, and quick (quick as far as completely home-made desserts go). Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Good recipe. My husband loved it. I think the pan size was too small and a 10x15 pan would do better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States