Pineapple Upside-Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Very good and easy. Not too sweet and great texture. Halved the recepie for a smaller cake and baked in a 7" round corningware dish. It took 55 minutes, and came out perfect, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAIA3441

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
very good ! Haveing a Luau for my daughters 11 b-day and wanted to test it out first , I think Im going to try it with whole pineapples to dress it up some .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
I baked this cake for my dad's 75 b-day. It was very good and I would have given it five stars except that it makes too much batter to fit the specified pan and is not quite as moist as a good cake should be. The juice in the batter gave the cake a nice flavor and the glaze was yummy. I wish I had made extra to drizzle over the slices. The texture baked up rather pound cake-like. Everyone enjoyed it. I was sorry I had not greased the pan as recommended and as noted by another reviewer; I sprayed it with vegetable spray and although I let the cake cool for quite awhile, some of the pineapple and glaze stuck to the pan. No matter. This is a great version of the traditional favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MoMo'sGoodies
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This cake is delish! Probably one of the best upside down pineapple cakes I have made. I put the batter in a 9 by 9 inch pan instead of a 9 by 13 and it rose high and beautiful. I did not spray my pan enough, thinking the butter in the syrup would be sufficient, so about half of the brown sugar syrup was left in the pan when I tried to invert it. So, it did not look as pretty as I wanted it to be. I made a brown-sugar, pineapple glaze to cover up the bare spots. All in all-some mistakes on my part-but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoMo'sGoodies
Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I thought this recipe was very good. I took other reviews advise and doubled the butter, brown sugar, and pineapples. I also used whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
We loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bucyrus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This cake had a sublime flavor amd just the right texture- not too grainy. It was very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianocook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Good cake but too big for us so it halves successfully. I substitute butter for shortening and the taste is deeper and texture better. This, of course, is to suit our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
i have used several of other peoples recipes for pineapple upside down cakes.....because i love to experiment in the kitchen! :) but this one is just way too much....u use too much flour and sugar...not enough eggs....i use 3 eggs. sorry i was not pleased with this recipe at all. i made it exact to the T and it was just overflowing out of the pan :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
my kids loved this cake warm with custard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Preston, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States