Pineapple Upside-Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
A box cake mix would have been a lot easier and a lot tastier. The cake is super bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I absolutely love pineapple. There aren't too many ways you can serve it that I won't eat it, but I was not at all impressed with this recipe. It came out more like a shortcake and was way too dry. I waited a day as the recipe suggested and still wasn't happy. I will definitely be looking for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
PERFECT. I knew this was the recipe for me b/c of everyone saying it was too bland. My fave versions are fluffy and biscuity and not really cakey... this was awesome. The #1 trick is to get the brown sugar, butter, and pineapple cooking while you make the cake and when it's bubbling pour the batter on, it makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieBlair1979

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I am an experienced baker but this was my first time making this cake. You could taste too much of the flour at first but after it sat for a day it was much better. Still a good recipe in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wingedwhisper72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
disappointing version...could barely tell i was eating a pineapple cake..live and learn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This recipe makes the most delicious cake! I halved the recipe, used oil instead of butter (making sure to cream the sugar and oil together very thoroughly with an electric mixer), baked it in an 8x8 pyrex pan and it still turned out great! This is possibly the very best cake I have ever tasted! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Ann Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was the first time I've ever made this cake before. Everyone loved it and it tasted great! I did double the brown sugar and butter as others suggested and if I didn't I don't think it would have tasted as good. I also substituted half the milk with pineapple juice and it came out very moist. Will make this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
i halved the recipe and used butter instead of shortening. pretty yummy if you ask me! the cake part coud be bland but if you use a coconut extract instead of vanilla or a dash of rum you can liven up the flavor! i used a tsp of rum with the brown sugar and pineapples. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
The cake part is fairly bland, I added about 1/8 to 1/4 tsp of almond flavoring. Improved the taste! The Pineapple bottom is yummy. I still prefer the Dunkin Hinze recipe that uses boxed yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Sherlock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Way too much flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States