Pineapple Upside-Down Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I didn't read these reviews until the cake was in the oven, then turned down the temp to 325, then 300, to try to avoid overcooking and dryness that other reviewers have noted. Cake turned out good, not dry, but definitely too sweet. If I make it again I will cut back the suger significantly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
The cake was not good at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin4Fun
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Loved the cake! It was my first time making this cake one spontaneous Saturday and I think it came out pretty well. It was a little too sweet for me, so the next time I make it I will probably decrease the white sugar by maybe a 1/2 cup. Overall it was moist and most importantly homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
i was looking for a recipe for pineapple upside down cake because my mom used to make it for us all the time and now that she is gone, i wanted to make it as tribute to her this christmas. this wasnt the same as hers though. i will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I altered the original recipe and new version is a 5 star, according to my guests. (1) Buttered 2 layer cake 9" pans w/melted real Butter; then melted 4 Tbls. Butter divided into 2 Tbls. separately into 2 small bowls of 1/2 Cup packed Brown Sugar w/1 Tbls. Pineapple Juice in ea. small bowl. Mixed each well, then placed sliced Pineapple 1/2 circles onto mixture in each pan. (Used 1 and 1/2 cans 15 oz. each Sliced Pineapple) (2) I used "Duncan Hines Moiste Deluxe BUTTER Golden Recipe" cake mix in which I used 2/3 Cup Pineapple Juice instead of water, 3 Eggs, 1 Stick Real BUTTER softened; beat 4 minutes at 150 strokes per minute; poured 1/2 of batter into the 2 9" pans over the Pineapple/Sugar mixture. (3) Baked 350 oven 20 min. Cooled 15 min. Turned out perfect even though I did not have cherries on hand. This was prepared to serve guests and it was a hit. Far better tasting cake than found in stores or bakery shops! Submitted Oct. 7, 2010
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I'd let it cool longer than 5 minutes...when I turned mine out the topping got stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zoenyc
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I just made this kind of cake for the first time. I halved the recipe and it came out perfectly! I did make a few adjustments: I used pineapple rings instead of crushed pineapple and near the end I added powder sugar because the batter didn't taste sweet enough. I also ran out of vanilla so used almond extract for about 1 t. I put the pineapple down before I put the sauce down, but it still came out great. It was like angels food cake and was delish! I highly recommend this for those who want a nice dessert to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I added 1/4 cup extra water and baked an extra 5 minutes since lots of people complained it was dry... It was an ok cake, looked a mess out of the pan so I didn't bother taking a picture. I think I'll keep looking for one like my Mom used to make.. Taste was different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Too much cake which made the whole thing seem dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was great! Everyone does there own little twinges here and there to the recipes but overall this came out wonderfully.....thankyou for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beautiful Disaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States