Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This was very easy to make and a very moist and tasty cake. I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I had been wanting to try a pineapple bacon upside down cake for some time. I only had 4 strips of bacon left over in a package. I cooked those off, crumbled them. Since I was afraid there was not enough bacon flavor I used the bacon drippings for part of the melted butter. Bacon drippings are natural and have the same calories/TBL. as butter. I am not apologizing. It was very moist and tasty. More bacon the next time would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
wonderful, i added chocolate chips to the batter and a little cognac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andria McCartan
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andria McCartan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Recipe is super easy. However I used veg. oil instead of butter in the cake batter. And also used pineapple syrup in the compote and yoghurt instead of the milk. I also added 1/4 cup of flour to make the batter thicker. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This cake was good had good flavor and texture i would try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Esta Jiad
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I made this cake with the adjustments suggested by other reviewers. I used 1/4 butter for the topping and 1/4 in the batter. Also used 1/3 milk and 1/3 pineapple juice. Cake tasted great. Moist and not too sweet. Took longer to cook in the oven - a full hour (gas mark4) Husband who's not usually a fan of cake loved it. Will definitely be making again. 4/5 because of the adjustments needed to the original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esta Jiad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaitlyn
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
tastes a lot like a spice cake but I still love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious and moist! Cake overflowed. Next time will take some of the batter to make 1 or 2 single serving cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
It is a good recipe in theory, but I subbed some things out, to reduce the richness. What worked: I subbed: -brown sugar topping with coconut sugar -1/2 cup butter with 1/2 cup vanilla favored greek non-fat yogurt -skipped adding additional vanilla altogether -used 3/4 cup almond flour and 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour instead of 1.5 cups all purpose flour -2/3 cup brown sugar in the cake with 1/2 cup agave nectar -3/4 cup milk with equal parts 0% milk and unsweetened almond milk -omitted the cherries altogether, just did not have them on hand. Believe it or not, it was still way too rich and sweet. What did not work: The thickness of the pineapple, I might have cut it too thick. It needs to be cut no more than 0.25 inch thick - even that might be too much. The pineapples did not cook through in my first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
USED ALL THE BUTTER called for, so glad I did! My cake was perfect and had a crazy delicious caramel around the edges! My only change was I used white sugar with a drizzle of cane syrup in place of the brown sugar because I was out. Perfect as is, not soggy or even greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Mercer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States