Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
wonderful, i added chocolate chips to the batter and a little cognac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andria McCartan
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andria McCartan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Recipe is super easy. However I used veg. oil instead of butter in the cake batter. And also used pineapple syrup in the compote and yoghurt instead of the milk. I also added 1/4 cup of flour to make the batter thicker. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This cake was good had good flavor and texture i would try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Esta Jiad
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I made this cake with the adjustments suggested by other reviewers. I used 1/4 butter for the topping and 1/4 in the batter. Also used 1/3 milk and 1/3 pineapple juice. Cake tasted great. Moist and not too sweet. Took longer to cook in the oven - a full hour (gas mark4) Husband who's not usually a fan of cake loved it. Will definitely be making again. 4/5 because of the adjustments needed to the original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esta Jiad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaitlyn
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
tastes a lot like a spice cake but I still love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious and moist! Cake overflowed. Next time will take some of the batter to make 1 or 2 single serving cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
It is a good recipe in theory, but I subbed some things out, to reduce the richness. What worked: I subbed: -brown sugar topping with coconut sugar -1/2 cup butter with 1/2 cup vanilla favored greek non-fat yogurt -skipped adding additional vanilla altogether -used 3/4 cup almond flour and 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour instead of 1.5 cups all purpose flour -2/3 cup brown sugar in the cake with 1/2 cup agave nectar -3/4 cup milk with equal parts 0% milk and unsweetened almond milk -omitted the cherries altogether, just did not have them on hand. Believe it or not, it was still way too rich and sweet. What did not work: The thickness of the pineapple, I might have cut it too thick. It needs to be cut no more than 0.25 inch thick - even that might be too much. The pineapples did not cook through in my first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
USED ALL THE BUTTER called for, so glad I did! My cake was perfect and had a crazy delicious caramel around the edges! My only change was I used white sugar with a drizzle of cane syrup in place of the brown sugar because I was out. Perfect as is, not soggy or even greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Mercer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I tweaked the recipe just a smidge, and it turned out perfectly. I substituted reserved pineapple juice for the milk, used canned pineapple rings and I placed pecan halves in between the pineapple rings ( just for eye-candy). absolutely THE BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieSue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackett, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cassville, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Old Fashioned Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

A dessert classic, baked just like in the olden days!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States