Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I bought a pineapple to mix with banana for my baby's breakfast, and ended up with quite a lot left over. I searched for recipes using fresh pineapple, and came across this one - YUM! I'm used to my gran's cake mix/canned pineapple recipe which is delicious, but I thought ours was at least as good as hers. I didn't have a cake pan on hand, so we used two loaf pans. It was a little flatter than normal, due to splitting the recipe into two pans, but it tasted fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POETGODDESS813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
I am new to cooking, so the recipe seemed a little time consuming, however my boyfriend who likes pineapple upside down cake apsolutely raved about it. The cinnamon added an specially nice touch. It was moist, and sweet. A definate keeper. The best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This cake was a big hit with a pineapple upside-down cake lover. He said it was better than the cake mix version he usually makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
This cake was awesome. I reduced the butter and brown sugar as was suggested by other reviewers. Also I used half milk and half pineapple juice for added flavor. I made one day prior to serving and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
I tweaked the recipe a bit and it was wonderful. I used 1/2 of a l lb.4 oz. can of pineapple chunks (instead of fresh pineapple) and used the pineapple juice from the can as a substitute for milk. I also included 3 marachino cherries (halved) and 2 T of pecan pieces sprinkled in with the pineapple pieces in the bottom layer. This was even better than the pineapple upside down can my mother used to bake. Ymmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
i thought it was great. sweet, moist, and very easy, i found i had too change the recipie a tad, for high altitude cooking., I added a 1/4 cup extra flour. it was very yummy, even my mother who critcizes me on everything thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This cake came out great. It sounded a little complicated, but was really easy. I didn't even have the right sized pan, but it was still good. I used a can of crushed pineapple that I drained really well, and used the pineapple juice instead of milk. Plus, I sprinkled some chopped walnuts on top of the butter-brownsugar mixture on the bottom of the pan. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
okay, I don't know why some people think this is soggy or way too much butter?? I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out PERFECT. I did sub margarine for butter but other than that just did what it said and it is scrumptious. Great version of a classic fav. thanks Nina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I gave this a five star rating, assuming the amount of butter was incorrect. I used 1/2 cup butter total. I little more than 1/4 cup for the cake and the remainder for the topping. I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 pineapple juice for the 3/4 cup milk. This cake was okay the day I made it, but it was awesome the next day. So, if you need a make ahead dessert with ingredients you have on hand, this might be the ticket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Turned out just fine, and tasted wonderful! I would recommend using a tad less butter and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States