Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
I tweaked the recipe a bit and it was wonderful. I used 1/2 of a l lb.4 oz. can of pineapple chunks (instead of fresh pineapple) and used the pineapple juice from the can as a substitute for milk. I also included 3 marachino cherries (halved) and 2 T of pecan pieces sprinkled in with the pineapple pieces in the bottom layer. This was even better than the pineapple upside down can my mother used to bake. Ymmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
I am new to cooking, so the recipe seemed a little time consuming, however my boyfriend who likes pineapple upside down cake apsolutely raved about it. The cinnamon added an specially nice touch. It was moist, and sweet. A definate keeper. The best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
This was a horrible recipe. I followed the recipe to the letter and all I got was a soggy mess. The melted butter to brown sugar ratio was WAY off. I would not recommend this to ANYONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
i thought it was great. sweet, moist, and very easy, i found i had too change the recipie a tad, for high altitude cooking., I added a 1/4 cup extra flour. it was very yummy, even my mother who critcizes me on everything thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
I substituted soy milk for the milk and milk-free margarine for the butter with great success. The cake had a lovely soft and light texture and the pineapple topping was tasty. It was best while still warm from the oven, but still quite good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
This makes a pretty good cake. I am used to pineapple upside down cake having a yellow cake, but this is a little different. Definitely recommend heating leftover slices for about 20 sec on defrost in microwave before eating--it tastes much better warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
I TOTALLY agree with UNACHICA! Would not recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This cake came out great. It sounded a little complicated, but was really easy. I didn't even have the right sized pan, but it was still good. I used a can of crushed pineapple that I drained really well, and used the pineapple juice instead of milk. Plus, I sprinkled some chopped walnuts on top of the butter-brownsugar mixture on the bottom of the pan. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This cake turned out to be a soggy mess. The proportion for the butter and brown sugar was definately way off. I read the reviews on this recipe before trying it. So I merely greased the pan with butter and sprinkled the brown sugar over it, but ultimately the end product was a messy and soggy cake. I am still curious how others find this cake good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This did not turn out a expected. Tough and runny to much juice. Sorry but I have made much better and tasted much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States