Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Make it into cupcakes for a party because I didn't want to have to worry about cutting and serving. Thank goodness I sampled one before heading out the door. The cake was flavorless and had a blah, pasty texture. The top was goo. I normally get raves from friends on my baking skills. There was NO way I was going to serve this! I was under time pressure and ended up running to the store and got some Jiffy yellow cake mix....and I NEVER used boxed mix! It wasn't fabulous, but much better than this recipe turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
So easy and good my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Wonderful!!! is all I can say. This was my very first from scratch cake. It turned out beautifully. I doubled the recipe for a 9x13 cake pan and cooked it for 55 minutes. My family and guest couldn't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
This cake is awesome!! Brilliant recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenallaDrone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! This was the best pineapple upside down cake I made! The cake was super moist and taste wonderful by itself. Instead of using maraschino cherries I used cherry pie filling. I did double the recipe to make it in a 9x13 pan. I also used less milk about 1/2 cup and then substituted the remainder with 1 cup pineapple juice. My family loved this cake. The cake wasn't gone and my son was already asking me when I was going to make it again. Again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Great recipe ... first time I've ever made this and was in bind for a bake sale and it turned out great!!! Person who bought it loved it and it was so easy I couldn't believe it! I was in a hurry so I used canned pineapple rings instead of fresh and I baked it in a 9x13 pan for 20 minutes like someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imseansmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This is not -- I repeat, not -- a bad recipe. In fact, this cake got me rave reviews. It's moist and buttery and cinnamon-y. I did take quite a few of the suggestions of the reviewers, though. a) Probably too much butter for the topping. I used 3/4 a stick, and kept adding brown sugar until I was satisfied. b) Instead of 3/4 cup of milk, used 1/2 cup of pineapple juice and 1/4 cup of milk c) Added cherries After baking 45 minutes, the outside was getting slightly burnt, and the inside was still slightly undone. I threw a piece of foil over the cake, baked an additional 5 minutes, and it came out perfect. With the extra brown sugar, this gave the edges a scrumptious, sweet crunch. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I just made this cake for the first time and it is delicious. I wanted to make a dessert using a fresh pineapple I had and found this recipe. I wanted to use all my pineapple so I baked it in a 9x13 inch pan. I had more space to layer my pineapple. I decreased the butter I mixed with the brown sugar to 1/4 cup. I baked it for 50 minutes. It turned out perfect and is SO GOOD. I will be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Wow! This cake is wonderful. The only deviation was my usual of adding far more vanilla than called for! And I baked it in a square pan rather than round. I use only fresh eggs from a lady in the neighborhood, which might have something to do with the fluffiness, but wow, this recipe was beautiful to make. The batter was amazingly fluffy and made a huge amount. We ate this for dessert after our Easter dinner...served it warm with whipped cream. I baked it longer than 55 mins, but I think it may be due to pan size. It separated perfectly out of the pan. It was soooo beautiful and so delicious, and super easy!!! This cake would make a great gift or to take to the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was so good warm from the oven. It would be really great with fresh pineapple, however all I had on hand was pineapple rings which I did not pat dry, and I stirred the butter and brown sugar in the cake pan as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States