Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I had a pineapple that was slightly over-ripe and thought maybe making a cake would be good before it went bad. Searched and found this recipe which was quite simple. I followed the directions (didn't read a single review), but forgot to add the vanilla. I used a 11 1/2 x 8 1/2 pan. Bake time could have been less than what I set it for (but we were branding calves and couldn't get back to the house in time to test), but it did fine with 50 minutes. After reading reviews, I think I agree that the amount of butter could be reduced, but as written, this recipe is still a winner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
So far this cake is just what i am looking for! just right for my small family. The batter is excellent. I did not sift and it was still good. I will use less butter for the topping. I haven't taken it out of the oven yet but it was oozing over the batter. At this point if it comes out looking like a beast it will still be eaten tonight!!! This is a keeper, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This was very good, but -as much as I LOVE cinnamon- I would prefer a touch less of it. Also, I think it would be better with some crushed pineapple in the cake itself, instead of only having the pineapple as a topping. Will make again with a few minor changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Baked as directed and the resulting cake was a little dry and more crumbly than expected. Not as much pineapple taste as I would prefer. Next time, I will try it with some pineapple juice instead of all milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoTakeoutForMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is an extremely dull recipe and the cake was dull as well. Wish I had taken more time to select a recipe but I was in a hurry. That'll teach me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Just finished making this at my sister's request for her birthday. I don't eat pineapple upside down cake so I wasn't familiar with the baking process or what it was supposed to look like. After the fact, I now know there is WAY WAY WAY too much pineapple. I used less than 2 cups and it was still WAY too much for a 9 inch round cake pan. The toothpick came out clean, and the cake looked perfect from the oven. However, everything that seeped under the pineapple did not cook and it have a sloppy mess on my hands. The part of the cake that did cook was very yummy so I will try again tonight but I will only place maybe 4 or 5 rings AT MOST of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
WAY too much butter. If I make this again, I would cut the butter requirements in half. The cake was moist and the fresh pineapple was delicious (make sure to use a really ripe pineapple), but the overwhelming butter was just too much. I followed the recipe instructions exactly and was expecting a real WOW factor, which none of my family received. A disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
ohhhh myyy....that was delicious...best ive had and i love pineapple upside down cake...was even thinking if you leave out the pineapple this would be a killer upside down coffee cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whiteford, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent, excellent, excellent! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! The recipe need to changes, just follow every step and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe was great! Although I did not have cherries, it was still just as good. This is a moist flavorful cake. I will be making it in the future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellbug

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States