Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This seems to be way too much for a 9" round pan. My cake bubbled over the pan & created a mess in the oven. What stayed in the pan, however, was very good. Next time I'll use a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking in Tanzania
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
If I could give this more stars I would. I love that it uses fresh pineapple and the cake is made from scratch. My husband doesn't like chocolate or sweets very much, but he had two servings of this. I had trouble not cutting into it before dinner! The cake is so moist and the sweet topping is perfect. We have what i think of as raw sugar here, brown and white sugar are super expensive. I used the raw sugar in both instances and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This recipe is a Disaster! I followed the recipe as it says. My gut kept telling me to put it into a 9x13 pan like the picture shows, but the recipe says "9" round cake pan". The batter bubble over 25min in and I had cake bater all over and a house filled with smoke! :( I should have put it in a 9X13!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This was the first pineapple upside down cake I have made and I love it. It is much better than the yellow cake box mix and canned pineapple version I have tasted from other peoples kitchens. Flavorful, great texture, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Great recipe, I make it in 9*13 inch pan, without cinnamon and adding about 1/4 cup orange juice with 1/2 cup of milk - instead of 2/4 cup milk-, I got many compliments on it juicy and very delicious so thanks for this great recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This was ok - but I found the cake a bit a bit dry. Maybe it would have been better sitting a day. I can't imagine reducing the butter as other reviewers indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This was so delicious! My grandmother and daughter also absolutely loved it! The cake was so moist and the caramelized brown sugar was amazing! Thank you for sharing! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Neubarth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I cut the butter used for the base down to 1/4 cup as well as others did, used cake flour because I don't think a cake should be made using All purpose flour. Turned out awesome, the cinnamon is growing on me, still not sure if im digging it!! But overall it is a great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I was looking for a recipe that called for fresh pineapple instead of the canned that I usually use. I sliced it as it shows in the picture instead of cutting it into chunks, but I doubt that could have made much difference in the sogginess. We had one slice each and tossed the rest. Besides the soggy middle, the all-purpose flour made the corners that did cook properly too dense. I have another recipe that calls for cake flour and it is much lighter. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I had a pineapple that was slightly over-ripe and thought maybe making a cake would be good before it went bad. Searched and found this recipe which was quite simple. I followed the directions (didn't read a single review), but forgot to add the vanilla. I used a 11 1/2 x 8 1/2 pan. Bake time could have been less than what I set it for (but we were branding calves and couldn't get back to the house in time to test), but it did fine with 50 minutes. After reading reviews, I think I agree that the amount of butter could be reduced, but as written, this recipe is still a winner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States