Pineapple Upside-Down Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Recipe is super easy. However I used veg. oil instead of butter in the cake batter. And also used pineapple syrup in the compote and yoghurt instead of the milk. I also added 1/4 cup of flour to make the batter thicker. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This cake was good had good flavor and texture i would try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Esta Jiad
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I made this cake with the adjustments suggested by other reviewers. I used 1/4 butter for the topping and 1/4 in the batter. Also used 1/3 milk and 1/3 pineapple juice. Cake tasted great. Moist and not too sweet. Took longer to cook in the oven - a full hour (gas mark4) Husband who's not usually a fan of cake loved it. Will definitely be making again. 4/5 because of the adjustments needed to the original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esta Jiad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaitlyn
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
tastes a lot like a spice cake but I still love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Delicious and moist! Cake overflowed. Next time will take some of the batter to make 1 or 2 single serving cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
It is a good recipe in theory, but I subbed some things out, to reduce the richness. What worked: I subbed: -brown sugar topping with coconut sugar -1/2 cup butter with 1/2 cup vanilla favored greek non-fat yogurt -skipped adding additional vanilla altogether -used 3/4 cup almond flour and 3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour instead of 1.5 cups all purpose flour -2/3 cup brown sugar in the cake with 1/2 cup agave nectar -3/4 cup milk with equal parts 0% milk and unsweetened almond milk -omitted the cherries altogether, just did not have them on hand. Believe it or not, it was still way too rich and sweet. What did not work: The thickness of the pineapple, I might have cut it too thick. It needs to be cut no more than 0.25 inch thick - even that might be too much. The pineapples did not cook through in my first attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
USED ALL THE BUTTER called for, so glad I did! My cake was perfect and had a crazy delicious caramel around the edges! My only change was I used white sugar with a drizzle of cane syrup in place of the brown sugar because I was out. Perfect as is, not soggy or even greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Mercer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I tweaked the recipe just a smidge, and it turned out perfectly. I substituted reserved pineapple juice for the milk, used canned pineapple rings and I placed pecan halves in between the pineapple rings ( just for eye-candy). absolutely THE BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieSue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackett, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Cassville, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I have made pineapple upside down cakes for years with my grandmother and my mother,we used milk and pineapple juice and cooked our cakes in a 10"castiron skillet. We always heated the butter and brown sugar in skillet while we mixed the cake ingredients. So you may want to try this way of baking. Just be sure to butter skillet well. In cooking in cast iron you need to watch your tempature and check for doneness with a toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I have been baking since I was in 6th grade. This cake was great as written. If I was a beginer baker I would be afraid to try any recipe with the things written on this site! With this and other recipe's!! Leave the recipe's alone! If they turned out bad maybe YOU made a mistake. You tweak and add a pinch of this, take something away from and then are not happy. This cake as written was moist and had just the right amount of juices and yum... Maggiemae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States